We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Durham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millennium Durham
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Westfield, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

The hotel rooms and hallways did not meet my expectations for a Millennium Hotel. While the common rooms in the front of the hotel were nice, the hallway carpets were dirty, the pool deck was littered with candy wrappers and dirty towels. The rooms were generally clean but the attention to detail was missing as duplicate pictures were on the walls over the beds. The faucets in the bathrooms were corroded and were difficult to use. The restaurant meals were good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwillia757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    153
    131
    118
    94
See reviews for
201
77
78
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SE North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Reservation was made by Duke hospital for me at a special rate and the hotel is very close to the hospital, also the hotel offers free shuttle to the hospital. The lobby area is nice but the rooms are not nice at all. Faucets tarnished, rusty door hinges, ceiling has water stains, peeling wall paper, 1 lamp kept flickering, wall outlets had power strips attached that looked unsafe, A/C was loud and didn't work well, limited channels on the TV and many of those were "fuzzy".

About 75% are unfriendly, the remaining 25% are just adequate in the customer skills. Also had 2 separate billing errors? I heard several other guest complain about the bill. It seems the hotel makes "errors" hoping people won't notice.

I got a great rate through the hospital but the rates on the website are really way to high, IMO this is a 1 star hotel. The location is not even that great (except for proximity to Duke)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

After checking in us (my family) noticed that the room was dated. Okay I can deal with that. My room was clean but, I quickly realize that the channels on the TV were limited and there was no internet service unless I paid for it. This hotel is not near a lot so why are we being charged for internet. Next after I got pass this I decided I will enjoy the pool and Jacuzzi. Oh that want happen because the Jacuzzi is out of order, empty, broken my entire stay. Okay well I will deal with this too. The hall going to the front desk downstairs smelled like bug spray every time we went downstairs, that’s a problem and the front desk staff need to take a lesson in customer service. Our room ran out of facial tissue and toilet tissue. I called the front desk, the person answered said they were transportation and then hug up. I called again, this is at 7:15 am and the lady said "service staff (maids) does not come in until 8:00 am". So I said will I have to wait until 8:00 to get some tissue, she said yes so I said this is ridiculous, can I come downstairs to pick some up, she said hold on let me see if I have some, she did and I went downstairs to retrieve the items and much to my surprise there were two people on the front desk and one (1) guest there.
No do not stay there. There are a lot of other hotels in the nearby area that we will stay at for now on.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mover21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stay away, there is reason no one comes to this hotel anymore. Watch your bill at the restaurant and bar. They over charge by stealth to make up for no one coming into their hotel or restaurants

Room Tip: Dirty and not a 3.5 star Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ100USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel twice, but mainly due to the convenience of it's location and the comfort of the bedding. Upon our first visit, I called to inquire about a vacancy, was told there were vacancies, but upon my arrival, I was told something different. I informed the desk clerk that I'd just called & she quickly made my reservation. This is basically a hotel that caters to patients and families visiting Duke Hospital, so vacancies for general purposes are hard to come by. Quick Run-down:
Negatives: The rooms are dated,
The Front Desk staff appear non-chalant.
The number of cable tv channels are limited.
Beware! The music channels are a pay-per-song charge.
Positives: The beds and linens are heavenly! We didn't want to get out of bed! LOL
Check out time is at noon, which is a plus.
It's within a short drive to downtown Durham and easy access to I-40, and US
15/501..
On my second visit, I booked in advance. Other than the slight aloofness of the desk clerk, the check in process went without a hitch.
Overall, this is a nice hotel, but nor a great hotel for the price you pay. They do offer AAA discounts. When I can find a deal under $80, I'll gladly stay again, but other than that, I doubt it.

Room Tip: Book in advance (online)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fruityb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at the Millennium Hotel Durham the night before attending an event at Duke. I had read all the reviews ahead of time, and was prepared that it wasn't going to be a 5-star hotel. I did find a decent internet rate, then used Priceline for an even better rate. It was close to campus, and since we were arriving late and leaving early, I just wanted a place to sleep.

The lobby looked very nice. As we walked down the hall to our room I started having flashes of scenes from 'The Shining.' Very Overlook Hotel-ish. Yes, it's dated. The beds were fine for sleeping, and I didn't have any trouble with water temperature or pressure. I did hear people in the lobby having trouble connecting to the internet.

The hot tub was still out of order. (I had read about that in previous reviews.) The kids enjoyed the pool. Actually, I think the murals in the pool area were my favorite thing about the hotel.

The layout is very confusing. I was constantly taking wrong turns. There are 2 treadmills, a couple bikes and a stairstepper in the workout area. The bikes weren't the greatest, but the treadmills worked fine.

I ran to Walmart and Dunkin Donuts in the morning to fetch breakfast, so I can't comment on the restaurant or bar.

I paid $39 plus fees on Priceline for this stay...at that rate you can't really complain. The area was easy to navigate though, so if I were coming back I might look into other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AllesonWonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lithonia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Outdated carpet, overcharge for a single martini, which cost $17.00 because the bartendar did not state they give double shots. I am glad I did not have two. I complained but to no avail. If you run out of tissue in the middle of the night you have to wait until 8am for sservices.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.9 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
1.0 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#38 of 70 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Durham

Property: Millennium Durham
Address: 2800 Campus Walk Ave, Durham, NC 27705-4479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion and Booking.com so you can book your Millennium Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing