We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel room reeked of cigarettes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our hotel room reeked of cigarette smoke. There were efforts to mask it. A window was left open and we noticed an air purifier outside of the door. Not sure why a hotel would put customers who don't smoke on a floor where smoking is obviously allowed. We did not get a good night's sleep because of the smoke smell. We tried to get moved the same night, but were told that we would have to wait to the next day. Those of us who don't smoke don't wish to develop smoking related ailments like cancer, emphysema and chronic breathing problems. Make sure you take notice as to whether your room has been smoked in before unpacking your belongings. This is the fourth time we have experienced this with this hotel group. Maybe we need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check for cigarette odor, they will try to use chemicals and other means of masking it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear H G,

As a fellow non-smoker I understand your concerns and apologize that your stay fell short of your expectations. Providing a clean stay for all of our guests is a priority and our team will discuss your feedback in order to better do so in the future. In the meantime, we are happy to accommodate our non-smoking guests requesting with their reservations not to be placed on the 4th floor as best we can. Please don't hesitate to give me a call at the number below if you would like to discuss your stay further. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity in the future to give you a great stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 95 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

While staying in the Raleigh-Durham area for just one evening we basically only needed a place to sleep as we would leaving early the next day. I chose this Holiday Inn Express based on their reasonable cost compared to other hotels in the area (including another Holiday Inn Express)

We were not disappointed. Our room was clean and their breakfast area was one of the larger ones I have seen and was very comfortable.

Base on my experience there, I would recommend anyone staying at his property looking for a convenient, clean, and restful place to spend an evening.

Room Tip: The property is located in a quiet part of town so a first floor room would be acceptable when stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear GTPM,

We appreciate you leaving a review of your stay at our hotel. I'm happy to read you had a clean, comfortable stay and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Thanks so much for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We weren't recognized as Platinum members or given an upgrade on our arrival, but our room was quite sufficient for our stay. We had a king bed, flat screen TV, a desk, & a small couch in our room as well as a small bar area. We came too late for the manager reception & never saw any cookies by the elevator as a previous guest had mentioned, but the staff was friendly & our room clean. The breakfast was typical for HIE, but everything was well stocked & seemed fresh overall. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muchfuntravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear muchfuntravelin,

Thanks for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay with us. Our IHG Rewards members are very important to us and we apologize that you weren't recognized upon check-in - our team will discuss your review in order to make sure we do so in the future! Otherwise, I'm glad you enjoyed your guest room and had a comfortable, clean stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you for another stay soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is right next to my workplace in RTP. It's small with no dinner restaurant and breakfast is nothing to write home about, but the staff work very hard to make you feel welcome and comfortable. They offer a van service that has dropped me off at bars and restaurants and then picked me up, as long as it is by 10:30PM. When I stayed there they had a manager reception with two beers and a snack. There are always fresh cookies on the side by the elevator in the evening along with the newspaper. On arrival my room key was already programmed and set to one side.
Ultimately, on business I need a bed and a quiet room with internet. The difference maker here is the staff. (Two free beers on a Tuesday and a Wednesday also helps).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveJMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear DaveJMurphy,

Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express & Suites, and we're delighted to hear that you find our guest service to be excellent, as well as that you've taken advantage of our local shuttle. I'm also happy that you feel you receive good value for your money and have a high quality of sleep. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your next stay!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was cookie cutter as Holiday Inn's go, except for the service. The maid left an incredibly rude note on my dresser and then the General Manager did nothing to really fix the situation, and barely apologized. Really makes me think IHG being my hotel rewards system of choice, I've never had this odd of a situation happen and a poor handling of it by management. The drivers, on the other hand, that take you to and from RTP, were exceptional. Rent a car if you come-- I got pretty sick of takeout food fast.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear wandersmuch,

We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay at our hotel, and deeply apologize that we did not handle this issue to your satisfaction. Please don't hesitate to give me a call at the number below and I will be happy to discuss your visit further - providing excellent service is of course one of our biggest priorities. To our understanding following an investigation of the incident, our housekeeper found the note slipped under your door and placed it on your dresser without realizing it contained offensive material. However, we certainly agree this was not the best way to handle the situation and will use this opportunity to avoid similar missteps in the future. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to have another opportunity to show why so many of our guests love us the next time you are in the area.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The location of the hotel was a perfect location for the Duke Chapel and the reception venue in Historic Tobacco area. Although the rooms did not have sofa beds the oversized roll aways were comfortable and roomy for our grandchildren. The amenities and finishes were comparable to other locations.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground level were more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gammaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Gammaof2,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and I'm happy that you found our location to be very convenient for your needs. I'm also glad that we could accommodate your needs with our roll-away beds. Thank you again and we hope to see you for another visit when you're in the area!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night while on a business trip. The receptionist was friendly and offered me water and popcorn. The rooms were spacious snd clean. Beds were comfortable. I didn't have time to eat breakfast there but it looked good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Julie K,

Thank you for reviewing us! I'm pleased to read that you had a nice stay and found everything clean. Hopefully you'll be able to try out our complimentary breakfast the next time you're in town. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
6.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham Southpoint
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh Durham / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park

Address: 4912 S Miami Blvd, Durham, NC 27703-8434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $80 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located at Research Triangle Park, minutes from RDU, the Raleigh Durham International Airport. As a service to our guests, we offer free Park, Stay and Go. We jump start your day with our Express Start breakfast bar. Businesses near the hotel include IBM, Adaptec, Nortel, Cree, Cisco Systems, MCI, Verizon, BASF, EPA, Quintiles, GSK, Bayer, The Solution Center, Harris, Cardinal Health, Burts Bees, Eastman Kodak, Syngenta, Underwriters Labs and Qualix. We offer free wireless and wired HSI access and shuttle service to and from Raleigh Durham Airport. Shuttle hours are from 4 AM to midnight. Invigorate yourself in our well equipped fitness center. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites RTP has what it takes to make your trip successful. During your stay with us, you can check out some of our attractions, such as the Museum of Science, Duke Chapel, Amercian Tobacco Campus, Durham Performing Art Center, Streets of Southpoint Mall, Prime Outlets Mall at Morrisville, NCCU, Duke University and UNC at Chapel Hill, or even attend a Durham Bulls baseball game. Come and enjoy our Southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at RTP. *Credit card used for on-line purchase must be presented at check in for possible incidentals and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park Hotel Durham
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Research Triangle Park
Holiday Inn Durham
Durham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing