We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed December 15, 2009

The Candlewood is comfortable and clean. The management goes out of their way to make their guests comfortable. I would definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemissHickory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 173 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2009

This was not our first stay at this Candlewood Suites, we had just stayed there about a month earlier in October. When i say friendly and more then helpful i could not say it enough or louder. From the GM Jonathan to the entire staff they could not do enough to be more friendlier. We are from Nj and not to familiar with the area and anything we asked them or needed advise on they were quick to help, print out directions and even when you returned asked how your trip was and was everything ok that they gave you. The best part was when we turned for this trip they remembered us and were happy to see us again. They even recalled that i liked harder pillows lol. There will never be a better place for me to stay and at a better price too. The cleanliness and hospitality made you feel if you were staying at your grandmas lol

Thanks for your hospitality and we will see you soon

J&S from NJ

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byrd8364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

My flight got delayed and I reached hotel around 11:45 pm. Reading some of the negative reviews about this hotel earlier on this site, I was geared up for a fright night. Instead, interestingly, I found that there was a easy way to do late check-in. The room key was in a locker, code protected, and I was able to check in without any hassle. From then on, it has been a no-hassle stay for me. For me, the top 5 reasons to come back & stay in Candlewood Suites are

1) Safe : From what I've seen and heard, the hotels and appartments nearby are not safe. There had been some kind of incident or another. However, during my entire stay in Candlewood, I've found that it's very safe. Infact couple of my friends, moved in from nearby hotels into Candlewood after they saw the facilities and had a feel of security in Candlewood.

2) Proximity to Shops: Being a vegetarian can have it's own disadvantages ;) especially if you are in a foreign country and don't have a car to explore places to eat. Candlewood Suites is on Highway 54. You have a Subway (for Sandwiches), couple of Indian Restaurants (Spice& Curry; Bombay Grill), McDonalds nearby. You can always buy stuff you need from Food Lion. Pizza is no worry, since Pizza Hut is round the corner. If you want to cook, you have an Indian store (Around the world) nearby. All these places are couple of minutes walk away from Candlewood suites.

3) Neat & Clean - Lots of Amenities : Exercise Freak ? -- you have a Gym to work out. Lazy bum ? -- Rent movies for Free from the front desk; Cooking Freak ? -- You have a kitchen inside your room, You can do barbecue in the backyard. They even have a store (Candlewood Cupboard) inside the hotel, where you can buy the stuff you need (from food to daily use items) for a reasonable price. The rooms are well maintained. Housekeeping is done on a weekly basis.

4) Shuttle Service : One of the highlights of this hotel is their Shuttle service. The shuttle is maintained in a very good condition. Sid, the person who drives the Shuttle, is a very interesting person. Very Friendly, accommodative, sensitive to other cultures, courteous and highly knowledgeable person. He is perhaps one of the compelling reasons for me to come back.

5) Staff : Last but definitely not the least, the friendly staff at Candlewood make you feel at home. They are some of the friendliest people I have encountered.

Overall, its a 5/5 rating for candlewood.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianVeggie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

Have stayed here many times. Close to My corporate Headquarters. Friendly staff always warmly greet Me and my associates coming, and going. Spacious rooms seem more like apartment living than a mere hotel accomodation. The socials they provide free of charge has always been our favorite weekly activity . Many Thanks to Michelle and the whole staff there who always make myself and our group feel so at home .

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiemaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

As frequent travelers I would say that our standards are quite high. I'm happy to report that the Candlewood has met all and exceeded many of our expectations. The room is nicely decorated, very well organized and comfortable. The entire staff (especially the Sales Manager, Michelle) are consistently fabulous to deal with and willing to go the extra mile to accomodate. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

The managers are wonderful - they take great care of the facility, and their love for this place is clearly evident. Will be Back

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapper_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

The Candlewood Suites in the Research Triangle Park is a terrific place to stay away from home. In fact, it even feels like home. The room and spacious kitchen has everything needed for a lengthier stay. The beds and linens feel like grandma's down comforter. The bathroom is quite roomy and has all the necessary appointments. Internet access was wonderful and the use of the laundry room was essential. The little pantry of meals/goodies/supplies, especially the ice cream, was welcomed because eating out every night is not always an option. The front desk service is professional and the parking lot is clean and safe. A definite big yes to anyone looking for a great place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBCTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 54
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Raleigh Durham Airport/RTP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
8.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham

Address: 1818 E Nc Highway 54, Durham, NC 27713-2183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Durham
#20 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $76 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated - Candlewood Suites – Durham/RTP has just finished a $2 Million Dollar renovation! Currently, all guest suites have wood flooring, new modern furnishings new kitchens and bathrooms. Public spaces have also been renovated. Conveniently located at I-40 and Hwy 55, exit 278. This beautiful property is in the heart of Research Triangle Park (RTP), and within minutes of Raleigh Durham International Airport, Southpoint Mall, Lenovo, BASF, Quintiles, IBM, NIEHS, USEPA, Duke University, UNC-Chapel Hill, and Duke Medical Center. Limited Shuttle service is available. We put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk and FREE HIGH-SPEED INTERNET. provides our guests a Fitness Center and our Free Guest Laundry room. Within walking distance of many restaurants. Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options and Snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, Nc Hotel Durham
Candlewood Suites Durham
Candlewood Durham
Durham Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing