We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like I said, I will be back!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Like I said, I will be back!"”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I recently returned to a property where I have stayed previously--the Candlewood Suites in the Research Triangle Park (Raleigh-Durham), NC. Once again, everything was great---wonderful staff, very comfortable room, and perfect location. I was welcomed by folks at the front desk. In addition, they presented me with a welcome gift; although it was nothing fancy---(water, chex mix, and a candy bar)---, I regarded it as they valued my business! That's what makes this property stand out above others in that same area (and other places where I travel). I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarheeldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    34
    12
    14
    14
See reviews for
24
19
35
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Welcome, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Service is always hospitable and the rooms clean and accomodating. I love having the convenience of the Kitchen and DVD player.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The place is quiet, has spacious rooms with kitchens, and the location is great - easy off the interstate and close to Durham's biggest mall area. Laundry is free and the gym's decent. The only issue I have with the hotel is that housekeeping only cleans the rooms once a week, definitely not enough. The rooms are rather dated, ditto the furniture but they're still acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank absolute_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnnDurham, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
I saw that you had stayed with us in September 2010 and since then we have completed a major renovation. The rooms now have a fresh look. If ever you visit Durham again, please try us out. A lot of times we can have housekeeping provide a light touch on your room if requested. Sincerely, Michelle Brown, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I have been staying here when i am in town for many years. Johnathan and Michelle (hope the are spelled correctly) have made me feel wanted and missed at every return, The rest of the staff is great. I am always unhappy when i come to town and have to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you can get one the 1 bedroom suites are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obiwanbajobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelahatchie
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2011

For the price, worth the trip. Little different from normal hotels with the towels and room serviced only once a week but nice place overall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinton39047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

During our recent trip to Durham,Nc. My Daughter and i were at a loss for accomodations.
We arrived at Candlewood Suites in Durham,Nc. Upon explaining out tale of woe,The General Manager Jonathan W. Allard came though for us with a Beautiful room and at Fantastic rate..
I can't express my graditude enough to Mr.Allard......He's an exceptional person..
I highly recommend Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP NC to anyone planning a visit to that area.........

Room Tip: Make a reservation !!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

The biggest surprise was seeing the smoke detector covered in a plastic bag. This is a serious code violation. Perhaps the last guest put this bag on the smoke detector, however the cleaning staff should have spotted it.

Speaking of the cleaning staff....when I booked the hotel there was no mention that the clieaning staff only comes between guests. They do not clean the rooms each day. i've never seen this before. In the Raleigh Durham area there are many other hotel which are in the same price range, but offer a higher level of service.

The heat /cooling is on a motion sensor, which I'm guessing gets disabled at night. I slept lousy because the heat kicked in at night and I woke up because it was 76 degrees in the room. The next morning I went to take a shower and found there were no wash cloths. I was given 3 towels because my stay was 3 nights long. The shower head was broken, so instead of a fine mist, it was like a firehose.


I have to say the woman who worked at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. The free internet was rock solid, and plenty of hot water....but sorry won't be back to the fire trap.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnnDurham, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
As you can see, most of our guest's experiences are positive. I personally apologize that you did not have the same experience. Our staff is very proactive with complaints and we were not aware of your dissatisfaction during your stay. Upon your arrival, you should have been told that we are an extended-stay hotel where we respect your privacy and housekeeping is only provided once a week. Concerning the bag over the smoke detector was certainly an oversight and thank you for bringing this to our attention. I hope that you will reconsider our hotel the next time you are visiting Durham. You are welcome to call me personally when making your next reservation.

Thank you for your comments.

Jonathan Allard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 54
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Raleigh Durham Airport/RTP
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
9.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#40 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn RTP
Comfort Inn RTP
#51 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham

Property: Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham
Address: 1818 E Nc Highway 54, Durham, NC 27713-2183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#14 Family Hotel in Durham
#20 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2004 Quality Excellence Award Winner, Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, conveniently located at I-40 and Hwy 55, exit 278. This beautiful property is in the heart of Research Triangle Park (RTP), and within minutes of Raleigh Durham International Airport, Southpoint Mall, GlaxoSmithKline, BASF, Bayer, IBM, NIEHS, USEPA, Duke University, UNC Chapel Hill, NCCU, Duke Medical Center, and the Vein Clinic. Shuttle service is available Monday-Friday to local attractions and businesses within 5 miles of hotel. At Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP provides our guests a Free Fitness Center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our Free Guest Laundry room. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to Dine In, a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, Nc Hotel Durham
Candlewood Suites Durham
Candlewood Durham
Durham Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing