We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice for the price”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

No complaints . Hotel staff was polite. Room was big and clean. Well worth the price of $75 per night. Breakfast was ok. Free Wifi.7-10 min to the airport. Fairly close to everything we had to go to with a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scags217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    82
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
73
22
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

After a long day of driving and our first hotel not working out. It was refreshing to walk into this lobby. The employees were super friendly. The woman working the front desk helped us find some where to eat our late dinner. The room was exactly what we needed when we came back. It smelled so fresh and clean. Everything was updated. The bed you melted in. My husband even got a blueberry waffle before we left in the morning. Thank you so much! We have found our new favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast is average at best, and there is no other dining immediately nearby. Worst part is the beds. They are so soft and mushy that you could get back problems if you stay here too long. Rooms aren't as spacious as a newer SpringHill, but they do appear to be recently renovated and well maintained. Air circulation in our room was weak. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flapjack5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I had to book on short notice for a last minute meeting in Durham, and booked this hotel mostly for convenience based on availability. I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Springhill Suites are not intended to be resorts, so you have to keep your amenity expectations in line, but this location is extremely well managed and operated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a business stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I wasn't sure when I book this hotel if it would be to out of the way, but it was the best weekend bargain from Marriott in the area. It turned out to be perfect. It was convenient to everything, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included which was pretty much what you would expect, okay but not outstanding. I didn't us the pool, but did use the fitness center which was small, but all the equipment was new. Happy with our choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Really 2.5 stars at best, but the polite staff makes me round it up. Still, the negatives here really outweigh the positives.

First thing was when I got off the elevator and saw my room--directly across from the elevator. I'm a Marriott Rewards member with Silver status who booked this weeks ago on Marriott.com. So there's no reason to give me the Priceline room, but that's what we got. My companion was tired and didn't want to bother going back to the lobby.

There was a big bag of garbage by the door, which by morning gave way to a big garbage bin (see photo). The room, however, was clean.

That's more than can be said for the breakfast area. By 9 a.m. on a Sunday it had clearly been overrun. No trash cans had been emptied probably since meal service began (see photo). Much of the food was depleted, the counters were a mess, and, well...add $13 to the price of the room, because we went to Brueggers Bagels.

The mattresses were quite mushy, along with the pillows. Not much to watch on TV -- many channels simply had a message from DirecTV.

I stepped out into the hall at 8:20 a.m. on a Sunday and the maids were already at work, so use that "Do Not Disturb" sign. Oddly, they were working Saturday night at 6 p.m. when we arrived.

On the plus side, plenty of hot water and pressure. And the A/C worked well.

I usually like SpringHill Suites, but this is the exception. Go to the Fairfield Inn (the one on Sellona Street) -- a few bucks more but worlds apart.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestReviewForU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We needed a place to stay after arriving late at RDU airport. This hotel was lovely and at an excellent price; plenty of room for the 5 of us, very clean overall, breakfast adequate and well-presented, very friendly and helpful staff. One thing is that it is not, in fact, that close to the airport - not a problem for us, as we had a car, but it was a bit tricky to find in a thunderstorm! But we called the front desk and they were very helpful about navigating us to it. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Raleigh Durham Airport/RTP
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Raleigh / Durham Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park

Property: SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
Address: 920 Slater Road, Durham, NC 27703-8061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park located between Raleigh, Durham, Morrisville, Chapel Hill, and Cary, in North Carolina. Our suites feature separate living, sleeping and working areas with complimentary high-speed internet, mini-fridge, microwave oven and coffee maker. Unwind in our indoor pool or fitness center. Enjoy complimentary new hot and healthy breakfast options before you start your day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing