We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experiences Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott at Research Triangle Park
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My family and I stayed here for the weekend and had the greatest experience. When I first arrived, I was unsure of the room to reserve. The front desk manager guided me to view the rooms layouts so that I can view and decide on the room to reserve. A few hours after reserving the room, I was called by the front desk manager to notify me of an upgrade option that became available. I was surprised and ecstatic to know that the manager went over and beyond to accommodate my family in that way. The accommodations were superb. The rooms were very clean and modern. The pool and whirlpool was so relaxing. The breakfast buffet is so delicious. There are so many items to choose from. I was so pleased with out stay here and will definitely return with my family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snuggiebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you it is one of your best experiences ever. I have shared your comments with our entire team and with our Front Office Manager. The team is truely commintted to making sure all our guests have an wonderful experience.

We hope to see you back soon in the RTP area.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Marriott at Research Triangle Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 345 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

As in most Marriotts I've stayed at, the staff were professional and pleasant to work with. This hotel has an indoor pool and fitness room. I used the fitness room quite a lot and found it rarely being used when I was there. The apples and protein bars were a nice touch. The restaurant was fine. The setup worked well for lone diners and groups alike. The service, as in other parts of the hotel was good, but the food was mixed in quality. A nice large shopping area called Southpoint is a convenient 10 minute drive away.

I highly recommend bringing a few sets of earplugs, as the building is adjacent to the highway and there is little soundproofing, if at all. And do put away the earplugs in case housekeeping thinks they look like chewed gum, as in my case. Also, I often didn't get a breakfast order form for the next morning, so I had to pick up breakfast elsewhere.

The hotels provides internet service in each room via ethernet cable (bring your own) for $10 per 24 hours.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your experience you had at our hotel and share some feedback as well.We have discussed in our team meeting as well with department leaders to remedy any issues with the menus being delivered and ear plugs. I appreciate all feedback and it only helps us to improve so thank you.

If there is any other feedabck, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at anytime.

Thank you again for staying with us and I hope we see you soon if you are back in the RTP area.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Booked this room through discount site (for the first time and not knowing what I was going to get.) After paying, I was pleased to see that I ended up with a Marriott. They can be hit or miss, but this hotel was great. You could tell that it had been recently updated. The associate at the front desk was with-it and friendly. The shop was loaded with snacks and any other necessity you'd need while traveling. After riding up a few floors and leaving the lobby (which was new) I was surprised to find somewhat dated halls, although the rooms totally made up for that. Very bright, incredibly clean, and high quality. Felt comfortable walking on carpet. Bed couldn't have been comfier. Newer furniture. Huge flat screen TV with HD channels. Clean and renovated bathroom. Breakfast was OK
at the restaurant. Nothing too special. Loved the free newspapers in the lobby. Grounds were well kept and parking was convenient. Will be back if the chance ever arises!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctb94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at our hotel. I am so happy that you had a great experience. We strive to make sure each of our guests has a great experience just as you did with clean rooms, HD TV's, making sure our guests always have options in our market. I also agree that our beds are so comfortable; I want one :)

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hallways. It is through our guests we find where our opportunities to improve are and I greatly appreciate the feedback. We will brainstorm and see how we can improve this for our guests.

Again, thank you for your business and for providing feedback on your experience. I hope to see you if you return to the Durham area.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We're just getting started on our stay here...hotel looks very nice and staff are VERY polite and helpful!! Room is clean and looks nice...Looking forward to our stay

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank chrispyMilwaukee_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the hotel. I am so happy that your first impressions were so great! That is very important to us, that each of our guests feel welcome as soon as they walk through our doors. I know the review was at the beginning of your stay and I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and you had a great time while you were in the Durham area.

Thank you again for your comments and staying with us here at the Marriott Research Triangle Park. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Had a blast here. We stayed only one night and i still had a fun time. The service was excellent and the food was very delicious

Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
Thank girlscout2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmartinez2, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback. I am delighted that you loved your stay. Our goal is to be sure that we not only meet, but exceed each of our guests expectations. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team, especially our Food and Beverage team. I agree, their food is delicious!

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you during your next visit to RTP!

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Absolutely a 5 star rating. Meticulously clean, most comfortable bed, best customer service, gracious staff, wonderful food, beautiful landscape.

Room Tip: it's like being at a resort !
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyQ1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

This hotel is exactly how a full service Marriott should look and feel. It is not the biggest Marriott you will ever visit but has the right attributes of quality service, clean facilites, well maintained gym and a great close in location to RTP, NC. I stay here whenever I travel to RTP, even if it's not the closest hotel to where I need to be, simply because the qualty and consistency are high grade and worth the effort!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 167,656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
8.3 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#6 of 22 in Cary
131 reviews
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott at Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott at Research Triangle Park

Address: 4700 Guardian Dr, Durham, NC 27703-8460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#6 Business Hotel in Durham
#16 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $100 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott at Research Triangle Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel on landscaped grounds, located near Fairgrounds, Duke University, University of North Carolina & Research Triangle Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marriott at Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott At Research Triangle Park Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham
Marriott Hotel Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing