We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Size Very Disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2010

My family and I were in the area for the NC High School Football State Championship Finals. I booked this hotel because it had suites and we had 5 people in our room. I've stayed in many hotels and choose Holiday Inn Express if available, as the brand is usually very consistent.
When we arrived the hotel staff was very nice & helpful, but we were very disappointed at the room size. This "Suite" advertises sleeps 5 but the couch (which was smaller than a love seat) didn't even fold out into a sofa bed. Where exactly is the 5th person supposed to sleep? The room was so small there wasn't even space for a rollaway bed. My husband and I were traveling with 2 teenagers and our 11 yr old daughter. The couch was so small that she couldn't even sleep on it comfortably. She wound up sleeping on the floor. Breakfast was also a bit disappointing as well. No fruit, hard boiled eggs were still frozen and food selection was limited. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smcdogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 160 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2010

The hotel was situated right off I-85 and only 1 exit away from Duke University. We had a room on the second floor. It was very clean with a mini-fridge and microwave. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The only thing I did notice was that the water pressure in the shower was not as high as Holiday Inns normally have ... But otherwise our room was perfect. The free breakfast in the morning had tons of options. And the staff, especially Joshua at the front desk, were very helpful by providing directions and accommodating to our needs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I arrived in Durham late one evening and was not at all happy with the accommodations at the hotel where I had made reservations. I call the Holiday Inn and inquired about room availability and was given a non-smoking room with a King Sized bed at the end of a hallway. The night desk clerk knew I was a woman traveling alone and took this into consideration when assigning my room. What a nice room!!! Large, flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, a work desk with great lighting, loveseat and coffee table. This hotel has to be new because everything looked new. It was a very quiet in the room. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. This hotel is right off a highway and not necessarily in the best neighborhood but the doors are locked at night and there are security cameras in the parking lot and throughout the facility. I felt very safe because I was coming and going at all times of the day and night. My stay was for 6 nights and the breakfast every morning was a welcome addition. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! It may not be classified as "luxury accommodations" but it was more than I expected for a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb-in-Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

My wife and I were returning from family business and were running way behind schedule. We did not arrive at this hotel until close to 1AM. We did call ahead to hold the room but it sure was nice to get a nice, warm welcome by the desk clerk.
He explained the free breakfast, etc. and we were on our way. The room was very clean and all amenities were where they should be.
Holiday Inn Express is quickly becoming my preferred hotel chain and this particular one did not disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gapiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

This hotel is very adequate for staying while on the road. The hotel is directly on Interstate but was very quiet. Room was clean and neat and had a new LCD TV with lots of channels. It is not located in the best neighborhood but food sources are available within a short drive. The pool was large and well kept and refreshing. Bed and shower were Holiday Inn quality which is Good! Staff was very helpful and polite.
We would stay here again while traveling through the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyD777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

First time stay was 02/2010 and found the rate for 2 double beds to be a good value. As a Priority Club member, I found the room clean but the welcome package was somewhat 'lean' when compared to other cities.
I also thought it odd that it seemed that there were no rooms with king-sized rooms (non-smoking) on the property!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Second stay at the HI Express in Durham. The staff is very friendly and helpful and my room was clean. There are the basic amenities here, breakfast is included. Good location for easy access to highway and university. No complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tohhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.5 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durham

Address: 2516 Guess Rd, Durham, NC 27705-3307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $109 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location near I-85 and the Durham Freeway, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Durham hotel offers the utmost in comfort and convenience for your next trip. Use the free Wi-Fi access to keep in touch with home and the office, and the Business Center offers all the tools you need to make a dazzling presentation. We also offer free taxi service to Duke University Medical Center. In the morning, we serve up a free, hot breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. Enjoy great room amenities such as a fridge, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, iron/board, hair dryer, an a large work desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durham Hotel Durham
Holiday Inn Durham
Durham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing