We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“casual and great”

Bull City Burger and Brewery
Ranked #9 of 763 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bull City Burger and Brewery is a locally owned, independent restaurant and craft brewery located at 107 East Parrish Street in downtown Durham, NC. We opened March 2011. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner 7 days per week with approximately 90 seats inside plus 60 seats of outside year round patio dining. We offer family friendly dining with a children's play area, as well as a semi-private meeting room for business gatherings, events and presentations all within full view of our own brewery. The restaurant is very much "farm-to-fork," working closely with North Carolina pasture-raised beef farmers supplying beef with no added hormones and antibiotic-free, that we grind daily to make our hamburgers and all-beef hotdogs. We work with other farmers growing vegetables such as tomatoes, cucumbers for pickles, and lettuce. The menu is streamlined with nearly everything produced on-site including house made buns, sauerkraut and bacon. We use no artificial sweeteners, no high fructose corn syrup, and no hydrogenated oils. We like to say we are like fine dining in a burger joint. We make the mustard, the slaw, the pickles, the mayo, the aioli, the hotdogs, the relish, the...
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“casual and great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

excellent burgers, excellent beer (microbrewey), very nice scenic atmosphere, young folks - fun place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    201
    65
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Locally sourced food, house made beer - yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

They pride themselves on making just about everything fresh in house. They ship in the ketchup, the wine, and the liquor, but that's about it. They even make their own hotdogs in house - which is very rare.
The menu is limited as a result. Which is fine if you want a beer and a burger, which is what the name of the place clearly states.
Our food was fresh and though it was burgers, hotdog and fries, it didn't leave us feeling bloated like a trip to Five Guys will.
They were out of a couple styles of their house beer, which was a bummer since they only have about 6 available. The one I had, an English bitter, was very good - a true session beer.
They are located a couple blocks away from Durham Bulls baseball - I suggest hitting it before a game.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris1stVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simple and good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Burgers and good beer. One of the bright spots of downtown Durham especially after dark. Casual atmosphere and seems popular with the locals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
352 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Hmmmm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I really wanted to like this place and went with high expectations of great food. On the plus side, the place has a fun atmosphere and the set-up lends itself to quick service. The onion loaf and sweet potato fries were first rate. The problem, and it is a big one, is that the burgers are only so-so. The burgers at Five Guys and even Wendy's are much tastier than the two we tried. This was a big surprise at a place that has burgers in its name. It's not that they were bad, they were just totally unremarkable. Perhaps after a while, I will go back and try the hot dogs 'cause, like I said, I really want to like this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuffyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Burgers and Beer - Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

A fun and lively burger and micro-brewery in the heart of downtown Durham. Excellent place to go before a show at the DPAC or Carolina Theatre. Beers are first rate with a nice cross section of styles represented. Order at the spacious bar and eat there or order at the counter and find a individual or communal table. Wait staff delivers your food to you. A return visit is already planned.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolfpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull City Burger and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Bull City Burger and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing