We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow Service!”
Review of Carolina Ale House

Carolina Ale House
Ranked #501 of 765 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
370 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Slow Service!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I recently went to this restaurant for dinner with colleagues while in the area for a conference. I understand we had a large party (8), but the service was unreasonably slow. It took almost 2 hours for us to get dinner with no appetizers. The food was okay, but not worth the wait. I would not go back again if I were back in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A gret place”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stopped by for dinner. The wait staff was friendly and helpful. The wings were out of this world as was the burger. I highly recommend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank disneyrocksNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will never go back”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just moved to Durham last week and really wanted to find a great place to watch football and drink beer. Walked into the Ale House in Durham around 2pm last Sunday. There were three employees standing at the podium. One was mugging down his girlfriend, the other male was chatting on his cell, and the female employee just couldn't be bothered and was leaning on the podium staring at the two who were all over each other. No one acknowledged us, asked us if we would like to be seted or anything. No other customers were waiting so it wasn't that they were busy. I finally asked if they worked there or if someone else could help us. The chick just stared at us, the couple ( one of whom I assume was still on the clock) came up for air, and the employee on the phone looked over at us. Minutes passed. Crickets. I then asked if we could at least see a menu. The guy on the phone reached around the girl propped up at the podium and handed us a menu. I was starting to think she had perhaps been injected with some sort of body numbing fluid since she obviously was unable to speak or move. Wait. I stood corrected when we handed the menu back and I said we'd just go somewhere else where the employees actually cared and she decided that that was the appropriate time to wake up and say something derogatory about me and my partner. Nice. I guess she was just prejudiced or lazy or both. I wrote first to the management and to corporate but they haven't bothered to answer and so I guess the not caring about their customers goes all the way to the top. I will never go back. I work too hard for my money and choose to go somewhere where I'm appreciated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpyderMac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Lunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I liked the atmosphere in this restaurant. Lots of college paraphernalia, and was able to watch various sporting events throughout. We have deliciious sandwiches, and do not recommend the house Banana Split UNLESS you have at least 1-2 other people to share it with! YUMMMMMM!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank stingerd43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Buffalo shrimp salad is a ton of food. Served in a taco shell with tomatoes and cucumbers. I have had other things here for lunch but nothing as good as this one. The amount of shrimp on this salad is excellent. A bit on the spicy side

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing