We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Seafood in Raleigh, NC”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kemps Seafood House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kemps Seafood House
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Seafood in Raleigh, NC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Last time I went was with wife for our anniversary. She had the fried clam strip dinner, me, fried jumbo shrimp and oyster combo. More food than we could eat at one setting, was lunch the next day. also had coleslaw, hushpuppies, steamed veggies and well mixed cocktails. I recommend this place to anybody that asks about Seafood away from the coast. Our waitress was Merranda and she took VERY good care of us. You won't be disappointed and you will leave full and happy!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Calabash style restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is one of the best seafood restaraunts. Service is outstanding, food is delicious, and the plate sizes are more than most people can eat. Constant best value and high quality of food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Buffalo Shrimp is to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

I've been to Kemps twice now & both times the service has been second to none. Both waitresses were always there when we needed them & very polite. I got the buffalo shrimp with a side salad and baked potato. The greens in the salad are very high quality, the hush puppies were amazing, and the shrimp was so good! It was soft in the middle yet slightly crunch on the outside from the fryer. Absolutely perfect! Although, the buffalo sauce is fine for me, but if you are sensitive to spicy foods, get it on the side because it is very spicy! :-)

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emily51402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
367 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Reminds me of the Docksider in Calabash, NC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

If you like the seafood found in Calabash NC then this is the place for you. Had the baby fried shrimp and got the small order and it was plenty big enough. Not a big fan of their french fries but the cole slaw was good and not too creamy. the corn of the cob was not really that good. But the hushpuppies more than made up for the corn. Tea was good but not too sweet. My co-worker had the two types of fish from the make your own platter and he finished his plate. although he did comment on the collard greens. He said they tasted like they came out of the can. service was great and not at all hovering.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mad155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood in a laid-back atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Was looking for casual dining that served great seafood and found it here at Kemp's. We had the flounder and it was absolutely delicious. Great waitstaff also...very pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snickersnicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kemps Seafood House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing