We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new Favorite for Date Night!”
Review of 604 West Village - CLOSED

604 West Village
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Duke St.
Transit: one block from local bus service
Description: Southern tobacco factory turned upscale Italian restaurant, 604 West Village provides a delicate balance between the rustic and the chic. The high ceilings and exposed wooden rafters convey a piece of Durham's history while setting the background for diners to enjoy an exquisite meal. Our talented chefs pour locally sourced meats and produce into contemporary interpretations of regional Italian cuisine. The beauty and simplicity of the dishes are complemented by the carefully-selected wine list and hand-crafted cocktails. 604'S wine list features a rotating selection of Italian wines offered by the glass and a bottle selection from around the globe. The bartenders find their inspiration in classic cocktails and create a range of Italian-themed beverages using fresh juices, an array of bitters, and herbs from the garden. Backed by sparkling glassware and a wide selection of cocktail options, 604's bar offers guests an intimate service experience. In the dining room, outfitted with tables constructed of reclaimed wood and bordered by austere brick walls, the historical charm provides the setting for a cozy dinner for two or a relaxing night out with family and friends. Just outside, the spacious patio with its tranquil garden setting provides the perfect 'al fresco' dining experience.
Clayton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A new Favorite for Date Night!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Located in the warehouse district of Durham, 604 West uses the ambiance of the setting to create a unique dining experience for their patrons. Not your typical Italian Fare but amazing still the same. My husband splurged a little and decided to try the Duck. It was so moist and seasoned perfectly. It was paired with Roasted Beets and we both have a new appreciation for this vegetable. I went with Risotto with NC Shrimp and was very pleased. We will definitely go back again in the spring to take advantage of the charming outdoor seating and try the pizza which looked and smelled amazing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
604WV, General Manager at 604 West Village, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hi Beth,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of 604. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and we hope to see you again soon, whether for date night or a cocktail on the patio.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Way more than Italian food!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner which included oysters, scallops and rabbit. Portions were very generous and atmosphere was very pleasant. Wait staff also helpful and friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
604WV, General Manager at 604 West Village, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience at 604 and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance, good food”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

For many years, a restaurant called "Tosca" occupied this location, and many of us who frequented Tosca were hoping that the new restaurant would equal it in quality. 604 West Village has been open for a number of years now, and it's a lovely neighborhood sort of place, with great appeal, but the food is a little disappointing. I would call it a sturdy, workaday Italian kitchen that tries to do interesting things with the menu but only partially succeeds. The sauce on my eggplant rotellini was very tasty but it was WAY overloaded with cheese, so much so that I could barely taste the eggplant. The shrimp/farfalle combo ordered by my friend was very good. Others in our party ordered a salmon/gnocchi combo (perfectly cooked, very tasty salmon, but the gnocchi were doughy, heavy, and undercooked), a duck dish (nice) and a chicken parmesan (very tasty but the ratio of breading to meat was not good--too much former and not enough latter). The pizzas we ordered as an appetizer were in some ways the best thing on the menu.

The service was spotty (odd since it was a Sunday night and the place was hardly packed) although everyone was very friendly. Sit outside if you can--a beautiful patio with very comfy tables, chairs, and outdoor heaters if needed. We bring our own wine and the corkage fee is a little high for this area ($20). The dessert wine list looked interesting and unusual.

Overall, a nice neighborhood place that has culinary aspirations which so far it hasn't attained. Stick with the delicious, perfectly cooked pizzas and salads, sit outside if you can, and don't be in too much of a hurry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EllenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
604WV, General Manager at 604 West Village, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi EllenRN,

I really appreciate that you have taken the time to review 604. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet or surpass your expectations. We definitely take your comments, praises and criticisms, to heart. I would really like to send you a gift card as an invitation to come back and give us another try. We just debuted a new menu last night. I think, based on your comments, that you will find the changes appealing.

We are continuously striving to improve our food and service, and our customers' personal comments are the best feedback we could ask for. So, again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience. If you're so inclined, please email me at olivia@604westvillage.com with your address, and I will get a gift card in the mail to you. We'd love to have you back in and make a new impression.

Kind Regards,
Olivia Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really fine”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were sent to 604 West Village (not the address by the way) by the hotel because we were looking for something Italian. What we encountered was Italian but not the normal "stuff". The building was an old tabacco restaurant that has been redone and is so beautiful - think romantic even. The bar area is large but doesn't overwhelm the place. The food servings are easily shared and were very food. Finding the place was a little hard as you have to walk around the building into the court yard to find the door.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenDSatelliteBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West M, General Manager at 604 West Village, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of 604 West Village. We are thrilled that you found us that you were so kind as to share your experience with others. We hope to see you again next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
367 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were given a gift certificate and the waiter Kelly was aware of our good fortune. It did not deter from the service at all. He was extremely helpful and walked us through the menu and wine list with ease. The filet and monkfish were cooked perfectly. The pricing is somewhat high, but the experience is well worth the trip downtown. Very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ECU1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West M, General Manager at 604 West Village, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your experience with 604 and with Kelly. We always appreciate someone thinking enough of us to share a 604 experience as a gift, so we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 604 West Village also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing