We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“burger”

Ted's Montana Grill
Ranked #19 of 765 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ted's Montana Grill serves time-honored American favorites in an atmosphere inspired by the hospitality, food and spirit of the Old West. Our mission is to give guests a fresh, authentic and original experience with every visit. Ted's Montana Grill's made-from-scratch menu is known for our premium hand-cut steaks and gourmet burgers. The menu also offers a variety of time-honored favorites such as crab cakes, cedar plank salmon, daily soups, seasonal vegetables, and house-made desserts. Open for Lunch and Dinner daily.
ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“burger”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of the best burgers we have had in the area. It was
cooked to perfection. We got the blue cheese one but next
time I would get a plain one. The flavor of the meat is
wonderful. We got the onion rings which were also very
good.
We had a salad to go with the burger. It was not as fresh as I
would have liked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gloseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    71
    22
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had the bison burger, bought two different kinds and shared with a friend. Food was delicious, atmosphere is great, all the wood and deep booths made it feel very lodge-like. I cannot remember the name of the bison burger I liked best, think it was called the Kitchen Sink, highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fair_Critique67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great surprise!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The menu sounded intriguing on the web site, so my wife and I thought we'd give it a try. What a pleasant surprise! Very friendly atmosphere in a small shopping center across from Southpoint Mall. Hostess and waitress were excellent and the food was great. We didn't try the bison dishes -- next time! -- buy my roast chicken in a cranberry glaze was terrific, and my wife enjoyed the plank grilled salmon. Be sure to get the squash casserole as a side dish; it's really unique and delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nealc_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good steak”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice atmosphere, if you have ever been in an old-time Montana lodge or saloon. Very warm and friendly. Our waiter was very professional. The hostess was a bit a clunker, but I talked to the proprietor about her. Anyway, the food was excellent. I consider $23 for a Delmonico Ribeye cooked to order with two sides not a bad price, considering it was 14 oz and that just about covered the cost of the beef and the labor cooking it. Nice background music too, somewhere between big band and old soft jazz. Just an enjoyable meal all around... except for that dead fish hostess... smile! They also serve Bison, but I wasn't game for that. Maybe next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMartinGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have eaten at Ted's in Durham about 5 times now and have always had a good experience. We have tried the Nachos, "Bar None" sliders (appetizer menu), Iceberg Wedge Salad, the slow cooked ribs (Sat night special), and the burgers. On our most recent visit, I had the Avalon burger, with melted Gruyère, a hint of Bleu cheese, crumbled bacon and caramelized onions, roasted garlic aioli and baby arugula. This bison burger was very tasty but the bun got all "wet" and mushy - not too appetizing. Ted's Durham is a great choice for a busy Saturday night when all the other restaurants are packed with a long wait. The wood paneling makes for a very cozy atmosphere. The wait staff are all great but the hostess at the front has an attitude and barely exchanges any pleasantries with you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sur_La_Route_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Montana Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ted's Montana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing