We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“marriott rewards member thinks this hotel needs to clean up their act”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“marriott rewards member thinks this hotel needs to clean up their act”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

prefer to only stay at marriott hotels, and this location has been nicely renovated but . . .
we had a really unfortunate experience at this hotel -
no hot water for showers at 7:20am on a saturday morning-not even warm water. only cold.
and that's just for starters . . .
found multiple urine stains on the sofa sleeper mattress;
hot tub was so filthy that it was foaming with white scum + dirty tile in pool so we couild not utilize this facility;
not enough staffing to handle breakfast volume - tried to eat at 8:25am but buffet was depleted and tables unclean. returned at 9:50am and found the same problem;
and front desk (surprisingly) provided us with a "mattress pad" to use as a blanket (staff member
at front desk did not seem to know the difference).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Hello Xirie,

I would like to apologize for the very poor stay you had at our hotel. It was embarassing to read your long list of complaints. We did waive all charges for your night's stay as a way of saying we're sorry for the problems you encountered.

Please note we did inspect your room thoroughly after hearing your concerns. Truthfully, we can not verify any urine stains on the sofa mattress nor could we recreate your hot water problems. The hot water for all rooms come out of the same boiler and we had no other complaints that day. We have put signs in all guest rooms explaining to people to turn the handle to the left for hot water. We put those signs in the rooms because guests would repeatedly turn the handle the other way. We understood that most shower units turn counterclockwise in order to get hot water. Ours do not and as such can lead to confusion for guests who have not stayed with us before. The fact that you had no hot water while our other guests did makes me believe the handle was being turned in the wrong direction. If this is done the water will never warm up regardless of how long it runs.

Again please accept your refund with our apologies for your unpleasant stay.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    127
    39
    15
    4
See reviews for
246
67
29
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I booked this hotel for a visit to Duke. The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful during the trip. The breakfast buffet was always fresh, hot & tasty. Any requests were handled promptly & the cleanliness was unparallelled. The only challenge was an issue with the air unit. It was handled within 10 minutes on the night of Super Bowl Sunday and, in the meantime, we were offered an alternative room, if needed. A brand new unit was promptly installed the next morning to fully solve the problem by the nicest & most professional gentleman. I am a frequent traveler and this hotel outshines every 5-star hotel in friendliness, attentiveness, cleanliness & superior service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CWOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello CWORLANDO,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a kind and flattering review. I will certainly share your remarks with all of the staff including the maintenance employee you mentioned and the housekeeping and breakfast staffs.

Needless to say, it is our goal to have all of our guests leave here with such a positive feeling toward our staff and facility. I am very glad that we were able to provide you with that experience. We hope you will come see us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The service of Teresa at the front desk has compelled me to write a review on here. It is simply the best I have ever experienced. I am a seasoned business traveler. I have stayed at Four Seasons, Ritz Carltons, and JW Marriotts among many, many other hotels. I have experienced excellent service before, but Teresa takes it to the next level. She makes every need or transaction effortless. She has every guest's name memorized (i don't know how she does it) and has never asked me for the same piece of information twice. When I left something in the lobby during one of my stays, she somehow knew it was mine and just gave it to me next time I checked in, to my surprise. Remarkable.
The hotel itself is not anything special, and the rest of the staff is not on Teresa's level, but at this point my loyalty for her is what keeps me coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hello Jack S,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit your review. I truly appreciate all your feedback and have it shared it with the other staff members. I truly hope hope that when you return you will find all of our staff as accomodating and helpful as Teresa has been for you. We hope to see you soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at this property over the weekend with our college baseball team and couldn't have asked for more. From check-in to check-out the staff made us feel welcome and incredibly comfortable. The hotel is clean and modern, and it's perfectly located near many restaurants. If we are ever in the Durham area again we most certainly stay at this property.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello CoachBU,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a kind review. Both are greatly appreciated. You and your team are always welcome here and we wish you luck throughout the upcoming season. I will share your comments with all of our staff and hope we will see you again in the near future. Thanks again!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We are local and booked a suite to celebrate daughter's 12th birthday with her friends. It was perfect for having a small indoor pool party (changing/bathrooms right by pool). The rate was great (AAA $87) being it was not a busy weekend in the Chapel Hill/Durham area. The suite was big enough for our group and nicely decorated/layout. Breakfast was basic hotel, and they could use more than one waffle iron as there was a big backlog, but otherwise coffee is excellent and lots of healthy choices. My daughter forgot her beloved pillow in the room, and we were thinking it was a goner, but as it turned out, they had it in their lost and found the next day! So happy about that and very thankful to the staff! This is a great location, central to both UNC and Duke, with lots of shopping/restaurant options.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hello Jomarcus,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit such a kind review. I am truly glad your daughter's 12th birthday party was such a success. Those moments can turn out to be the truly special ones when you look back years later.

I hope you will find reason to stay with us again sometime soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
358 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Thia ia a GREAT hotel. In a good location, close to Durham and Chapel hill with multiple restaurant and shopping options immediately around the hotel. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are lovely. Large, modern rooms with separated toilet and shower facilities in the room. Both areas have a sink. Have state in both a king and double room (within a week of each other) and they were both roomy and comfortable. The availability of outlets is very good and the set-up of the desk area is very nice. Having a fridge and microwave is just another perk of this suite set-up.

The food options are very nice too. A large market area for various purchase options, plus they held a manager's reception in the evening and had a nice full breakfast in the AM, with choices that worked even for someone who has Celiac like me.

Overall, just a really good property and the one I will frequent when I am in the RDU area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank efm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hello efm16,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our property. I am also thankful for your business and hope you will come see us again soon. I will certainly share your comments with our staff and hope we will have another chance to serve you in the near future.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent eco-friendly hotel. Rooms are very clean with big comfy beds and comfortable pillows. Could not hear anything from the hall or other rooms. Excellent breakfast buffet, including scrambled eggs, sausage and made-to-order pancakes. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello Cheryl S,

Thank you for staying with us and for submitting such a wonderful review. It's great to hear that you would definitely stay with us again. That is certainly our goal with all of our guests. I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms, the cleanliness and the quality of our breakfast. I will share those comments with the rest of our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Property: SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Address: 5310 McFarland Rd, Durham, NC 27707-6831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing