We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in October after another hotel cancelled my reservation. The rooms are clean and modern, staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and location was excellent for both Chapel Hill and Durham. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelVal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello AngelVal2012,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit a review. Both are greatly appreciated. It's great to hear that you will definitely stay here again. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    130
    39
    15
    4
See reviews for
251
68
29
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel location is excellent. It's close to U North Carolina and Duke. Close to downtown Chapel Hill. Restaurants and shopping are within walking distance.The hotel is very clean and has a very helpful staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavins12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello Cavins12,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review. Both are greatly appreciated. It's great to hear that you would definitely stay with us again. That is certainly our goal. We hope to see you soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I should have written this review a long time ago. My husband and I stay here regularly. It has been our preferred hotel in the Durham area for several years when we come for Duke basketball games. It is an easy drive to campus, conveniently located near shopping and dining. But most importantly, it is consistently clean, bright and welcoming. I love that they have both foam and feather pillows! Beds are very comfortable. The staff is always friendly and willing to go the extra mile. We love the modern design and the amenities, and hope to continue our stays at our "home away from home" for years to come.

Room Tip: If you don't want to look at the parking lot, ask for a room facing the park in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippysand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello skippysand,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Being called "A home away from home" and your "Go to" property is everything we could ask for. I particularly appreciated your comments regarding the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Good well maintained building that is close to both Chapel Hill and Durham. Also conveniently located near shopping and casual dining options. We will definitely be coming back. Interesting room design. Very well maintained.

Room Tip: Rooms with one queen sized bed are roomier and give more seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello Gail B,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit a review. Both are greatly appreciated. I would also like to thank you for your comment regarding the very freindly and capable staff. That is certainly what we attempt to provide and I'm very glad we were able to do so during your stay. We hope to see you soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night this past weekend. We are Marriott rewards members and we typically stay at Marriott when we can. This property lived up the Marriott standards we are used to. Very clean and great staff. Quick check in. My only issue is with the Springhill brand in general.....I wish they would add fans in the two bathroom areas. I am not sure why they don't have them. Minor issue but worth a mention. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor away from lobby is good if you have kids. Easy to get to pool and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkgump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello kkgump,

Thank you for your kind review, in particular your comment "very clean and great staff". That is certainly our goal and it's great to hear that is what you experienced. Above all, it's great to hear that you would stay with us again.

Thank you as well for your comment regarding the bathroom fans. We do indeed have them, but they are set on timers. That can be confusing to our guests, but being put on timers is done to help control temperature and humidity levels in the guest rooms.

We hope to see you again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from everywhere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

- Very interesting interior design; by some miracle all the odd items match together to a cool hotel
- They use real plates and real forks and knives at breakfast, not the plastic/paper stuff! Environmental AND classy; loved it!
- Room layout was good and it was clean
- Good gym / pool amenities

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveleverywhere006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello traveleverywhere 006,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and I'm truly gald you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds as though you were able to use most all of our facilities and I appreciate your comments on them as well. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Booked this hotel for a few nights and was totally disappointed . The rooms are designed where the toilet area is behind one sliding see thru shadow door and the shower/vanity is behind another. Not much privacy on either. Also 30 minutes after breakfast was being served most of the food was gone , I think due to a sports team coming in early.
Not a good design Marriott!

Room Tip: Pick another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LKay113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello LKay113,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit a review. I truly am sorry that you did not care for the room design. It is certainly different than the standard hotel room design and as such some guests are not comfortable with it. Many of our guests love it while others are more comfortable with a more traditional design. Regardless, I am sorry it was not more to your liking.

As for the breakfast, food is available to replenish the buffet even after a rush. I was embarassed to read that the food was not properly restocked and your remarks will certainly be shared with the staff. Hopefully such a situation will not happen again. Please accept my sincere apology for your unpleasant stay.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Property: SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Address: 5310 McFarland Rd, Durham, NC 27707-6831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing