We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very nice hotel. Check in good. Rooms are fairly large with seating area and separate toilet room with small sink. This made it nice for two people to shower and use toilet at the same time. My only complaint was the breakfast area. It was way too small and congested with too few tables and chairs. Later the second day they opened up the conference room for seating but this should be done at all times. The breakfast server had a hard time keeping the food supplied.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hello Jasmine084,

Thank you for submitting your review. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative. Your comments regarding the use of meeting rooms when the breakfast area is full is very fair and we do try and utilize that space whenever we are busy and the rooms are not being used. However, sometimes they are unavailable due to upcoming meetings. I'm not sure whether or not that was the case when you were here. I sincerely apologize that your breakfast experience was not a more positive one.

Thank you as well for all the positive feedback. It sound like your stay overall was a very good one and I hope we see you again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 671 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here on our way to the beach. Great hotel. Very clean rooms . Easy on and off the interstate. Would highly recommend this hotel . The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful.
We were visiting several places around town also and it was easy to get around.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momof3gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hello momof3gs,

Thank you for the kind review. I appreciate your comments regarding the hotel and the staff, the front desk staff in particular. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

stayed here before and it is very consistent. Well run, professional staff. Convenient location,
When in town, will stay there again. Nice bar in lobby, good bartender that knows his beer.
That is about all there is to say

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hello Mark G,

I would like to thank you for your business and for taking the time to submit your review. Both are greatly appreciated. I also appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, including Rodney, the bartender. I will be sure to pass them on. We hope to see you again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I recently spent 3 days at this property. I have always enjoyed staying here, and this time was no exception. I am a light sleeper and really appreciate a quiet room. My requests here have always been honored. I find the staff to be friendly, professional, and accommodating. This time when I arrived I believed I had "cracked the code" for the quietest possible room and requested the top floor. The staff tried to explain to me that I would be better off on the 5th floor as the ventilation is loudest on the top floor. Based upon previous experience, I did not listen. I should have! The next morning, something like 6 AM the ventilation kicked in, and I was unable to sleep. I went down to the front desk and was offered a room on the 5th floor (which I should have accepted in the beginning, always listen to the staff) which was library quiet. I am so happy with the way I was treated here, I need to pass this on. If you are in the Durham area and have the budget, you should definitely consider this property. The breakfast is great, and certainly counts against the room cost. Business, kids, holiday, whatever. This is a professionally managed property with serious employees in my opinion. I'll be back!

Room Tip: 5th floor, low numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGF_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello_finicky_traveller66,

Thank you for another kind review and for staying with us again. Your feedback and your business are both greatly appreciated. Your remarks regarding your search for the quietest room really put a smile on my face and you're right the staff learns over time which rooms are the quietest of all. Thank you again!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is so modern, the rooms are light and airy, and the beds are super comfy! I stayed a while ago when it was brand new and the upscale decor really blew my socks off! I love the room decor, the work area, and yes, even the bathrooms. Buffet breakfast is included as always. Close to Duke University.
Marriott always does a nice job, and I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wannagetaway613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hello Wannagetaway613,

Thank you for the kind reveiw and thank you for coming back to see us again. Your remarks as well as your business are both greatly appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed our facilities and am thankful that you would stay with us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

this is the 2nd marriot i have stayed in within the last 15 months. again i was impressed on the value and comfort. this one had a large room with a free breakfast also. it was clean, the room and very comfortable and the breakfast was good. the only minor issue i had was the tv did not work great. the pool was nice also and the people very accomadating. i would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hello Arthur W,

Thank you for the kind review and thank you for staying with us. Both are greatly appreciated. Sorry you had an issue with the tv. They are only a couple of years old and I'm sure that when we do get into the room it will only require a minor adjustment. Thank you for your recommendation and I hope we see you again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Was pleasantly impressed by this hotel. Seems like this brand goes for the modern look, so enjoyed the brightness and updated look of this hotel. Shower and bathroom are in separate rooms so that is convenient in the mornings. Overall would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellydoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello Jellydoboy,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your recommendation, kind remarks and business are all greatly appreciated. We hope you will come see us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
5 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Address: 5310 McFarland Rd, Durham, NC 27707-6831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $93 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing