We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Was pleasantly impressed by this hotel. Seems like this brand goes for the modern look, so enjoyed the brightness and updated look of this hotel. Shower and bathroom are in separate rooms so that is convenient in the mornings. Overall would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellydoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello Jellydoboy,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your recommendation, kind remarks and business are all greatly appreciated. We hope you will come see us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 672 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stay here regularly when visiting family in the area. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are light, with up to date furnishings and colors and everything we needed. There is plenty of space in the lobby to relax, eat breakfast or have a before dinner drink. We even had a business meeting in at a corner table. The hotel is located in an area we can walk to restaurants and shops,but away from highway noise. Good value!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello Marty S,

Thank you for the kind review. We greatly appreciate the flattering critique of our hotel as well as the staff. It was great to hear that we are your hotel of choice when you're in our area. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When I say "surprisingly", I don't mean that I expected a less than satisfactory experience, but that I did not expect such great service, really nice room for the money, and superior free breakfast buffet. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer and accommodating. Room was comfortable spacious, and pleasantly appointed. The only "con" comment I can make is that the mattress and pillows are not what I'd like, but I'm fussy about that stuff. I did sleep well and felt rested throughout the day and evening. Convenient location for shopping and eating. Try Smokey's BBQ Shack about 2 miles away for no-frills, traditional NC bbq. Easy hop skip and jump onto highway, visit bulls games, Duke, or UNC. I will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 82sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hello 82SAMMY,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for choosing our hotel to stay at. Both are greatly appreciated. I was happy to hear that the service we provided more than met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Springhill Suites in Durham is an excellent choice for hotel guests with a car. Located close to a shopping center, it is only a few minutes drive to anywhere in the Triangle area, but you will need a car to get around. Rooms are large and well furnished; rooms also have a small refrigerator, coffee maker and a microwave. Most king bedded rooms have only a stall shower, and most double queen rooms have tubs. A limited hot complimentary breakfast is available, but only to 9:00AM on weekdays, 10:00AM on weekends. Hotel has a small indoor pool and an exercise room. Ice machines on each floor. Parking is free.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub rather than a stall shower be sure to specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djsilversmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Hello djsilversmith,

Thank you for your business as well as your kind review. Both are greatly appreciated. I'm truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come see us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a great hotel for family and friends to stay at during our son's Bar Mitzvah celebration. Laura Pelletier made planning easy. Everyone said the rooms were lovely and that the hotel was convenient for all events. We'll definitely plan to do the same for future events. Family enjoyed the large gathering area for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Hello Ami G,

Thank you for the kind review. Your comments regarding our hotel as well as Laura Pelletier are greatly appreciated. We're glad to hear your event went well and appreciated that you would stay with us again in the future. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Another winter review of another SpringHill Suites, this time in Raleigh. This is my favorite. Only about two years old, same floor plan as other Suites, but this one is more modern. Sliding frosted green glass doors close off the toilet/bathroom and shower-sink/bathroom, which are separated. Very nice one doesn't have doors banging into you while using. Great use of space! Another green frosted glass divider between living room and bedroom. Same TV set-up which turns for use toward beds or couch. I really liked the decor, including the bathroom mirror light which was lit from behind a cool circular cover on the mirror.
One thing a little odd, but it's the method these days I guess. Their computer for reservations was down, so she had us call the toll-free number to reserve, right in front of her. I didn't like that, as we get better service right from the hotel, and sometimes better rates.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Hello Angell66,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and thank you as well for staying with us. Both are truly appreciated. Sorry for the problem with the computer system, but I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel facilities. I hope you will come see us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location was excellent. The hotel was clean and modern. The room was beautiful with a separate shower and toilet area. The sitting area was spacious. The set up was very good. The staff was helpful and courteous. ANd the breakfast was awesome! It was buffet style, and had everything from potatoes, eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmel, cold cereals, yogurt danishes, coffee, teas, juices.... a full breakfast that was complimentary. Highly recommend and the price was right.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kisabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello Kisabella,

Thank you for the flattering review, it is very appreciated. I particularly appreciate your detailed description of our complimentary breakfast and am glad you enjoyed it. We hope you will come see us again. Happy New Year!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
5 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Address: 5310 McFarland Rd, Durham, NC 27707-6831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $93 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing