We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very new and modern, spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Very new and modern, spacious”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Another winter review of another SpringHill Suites, this time in Raleigh. This is my favorite. Only about two years old, same floor plan as other Suites, but this one is more modern. Sliding frosted green glass doors close off the toilet/bathroom and shower-sink/bathroom, which are separated. Very nice one doesn't have doors banging into you while using. Great use of space! Another green frosted glass divider between living room and bedroom. Same TV set-up which turns for use toward beds or couch. I really liked the decor, including the bathroom mirror light which was lit from behind a cool circular cover on the mirror.
One thing a little odd, but it's the method these days I guess. Their computer for reservations was down, so she had us call the toll-free number to reserve, right in front of her. I didn't like that, as we get better service right from the hotel, and sometimes better rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hello Angell66,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and thank you as well for staying with us. Both are truly appreciated. Sorry for the problem with the computer system, but I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel facilities. I hope you will come see us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    130
    39
    16
    4
See reviews for
256
69
29
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mobile
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location was excellent. The hotel was clean and modern. The room was beautiful with a separate shower and toilet area. The sitting area was spacious. The set up was very good. The staff was helpful and courteous. ANd the breakfast was awesome! It was buffet style, and had everything from potatoes, eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmel, cold cereals, yogurt danishes, coffee, teas, juices.... a full breakfast that was complimentary. Highly recommend and the price was right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kisabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello Kisabella,

Thank you for the flattering review, it is very appreciated. I particularly appreciate your detailed description of our complimentary breakfast and am glad you enjoyed it. We hope you will come see us again. Happy New Year!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stay here often when visiting family. It is conveniently located off hwy 15-501 in a quiet area that has several restaurants nearby. The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. We have never had a bad stay here. The price is good for the area, and a good breakfast is included. I find the bathroom set-up a little bit lacking in privacy, with the shower in one room and the toilet in its own small space, but it is perfect for families who need access to both areas at a variety of times. The breakfast area on weekends is full of screaming children, which is a plus if you have one of those but a negative if you just want some coffee in peace. This is a solid example of the modern Marriott brand (Springhill), and except for the kids everywhere, it is a perfect place to stay in the area. And if you have kids, you will really love it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynford100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello lynford 100,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we appreciate that you continue to stay with us each time you return to the area. Our return guests business as well as their feedback are critical to our success as a hotel and we thank you for your loyalty. Happy New Year to you and your family.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights around the Christmas holidays. The room was very nice. Great set up and very clean. We enjoyed the free hot breakfast, manager's reception in the evenings with free appetizers, pool, hot tub, and fitness. Great location close to both Duke and UNC. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. This is my new go to hotel when I visit family in the triangle area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbdusf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello jbdusf,

Thank you for the kind review as well as for your business. Both are greatly appreciated. We're truly glad you enjoyed your stay and are happy to hear you would choose us again next time you're in our area. Happy New Year to you!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A+ in all areas. Stayed over Christmas to be near family. Staff was super nice and our room was beyond CLEAN! Nice pool, and lobby sitting area very inviting. Extra lighting in the room with very nice suite design. On our next family visit we plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timeline01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Timeline01,

Thank you for the very kind review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you and your family had a very, Merry Christmas and am glad to hear that you would stay with us again next time you're in our area. Thanks again!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Chose this hotel as it was close to a meeting location, and because I have had great luck with Springhill Suites recently - and this one delivered as well! The hotel seems quite new, and the layout is very convenient for business. I so appreciate a well thought out work area - convenient lighting, easy to get to and abundant outlets, comfortable chair, and not right in front of the ac unit. The front desk attendant, Theresa, was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We were delighted to learn of the managers reception upon arrival, it was very welcoming after a long day of travel and meetings.
The room layout is similar to other Springhill's I've stayed at, and the 24 hour exercise facility is convenient and sufficient.
This was my first time in Durham, so I don't have anything to compare to. However, i would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel for business travel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello wisgirl01,

Thank you for the kind review and for staying with us. Both are greatly appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated your kind comments regarding Theresa as well as the SpringHill Suites brand. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Happy holidays!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel, and both for the same reason: to see a Duke football game and then watch football on TV at the hotel. The seating area in the suite is perfect for a family to gather around the TV with snacks.

The front desk personnel were even kind enough to store our half gallon of ice cream in their freezer until we were ready to eat it. Fridge and microwave in the room as well as sectional seating made it perfect.

I'm not sure why the hot water was at issue. Saturday evening one if our daughters warned us that the water wasn't hot. Two of us concurred in Sunday morning; then suddenly the water began to get hit while our son was showering. We let the front desk know on our way out.

All in all, this was the perfect hotel for our needs.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello LyndaWV,

Thank you for the kind review and I apologize for the problem you encountered with the hot water. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with that one exception and hope you will come back and see us again. Thank You and Happy Holidays.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
3.8 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Property: SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Address: 5310 McFarland Rd, Durham, NC 27707-6831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing