We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Rooms are spacious and clean. Large flat panel tv, fridge, micro, coffee maker. The separate
seating area with large couch that opens up to queen bed is nice.

The room is described as a suite, but the sitting area with couch is not separated by a door. The desk with partial wall separates the two areas. Check the website for the 360 degree tour of the room.

Breakfast is delicious - sausage, scrambled eggs, omelets, bagels, cereal, juice, etc My only complaint is that they didn't have bacon for breakfast.

Convenient location to Duke hospital, DPAC, Durham Bulls. Kanki Japanese Restaurant is
across the street. Wide selection of restaurants nearby. Easy access on/off highway.

Hot water for shower - let the water run for a few minutes and then the water gets really hot!

Hotel manager and staff very courteous and friendly. Can't go wrong if you stay here!!!

Room Tip: This was our first stay. Indoor pool and exercise room and lower main floor. Very quiet hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Hello BC6,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the detailed and positive review. We truly appreciate it and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you'll come see us again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    124
    38
    15
    4
See reviews for
241
66
27
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay at this comfortable, clean hotel. Staff was friendly, breakfast is one of the best hotel breakfasts I've eaten, lots of hot items. Room was clean, bed was very comfortable, mini-frig, microwave, exellent wi-fi reception. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alashas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hello Alashas,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a flattering review. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Come see us again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Let start by saying the room layout is awesome!!!! I booked the 2 queen bed studio and it could accomodate 5. It was 3 of us in there and it felt so spacious. They designed the room to have a separate sitting area with a chaise lounge couch, office desk and kitchenette area (microwave, frig, coffee maker), and then behind that area the 2 beds. THe bedding was super comfortable. THe toilet and shower/tub were in 2 different spaces with privacy. Then they were so innovative to provide an iPod/iPhone charging alarm radio!!! There was plenty of lighting options and muliple outlets for charging other devices. The breakfast was DELICIOUS and free!!!! and the staff was so very helpful and pleasant. Then to add to this you are surrounded by so many shopping and dinning options within walking distance!! Wonderful pick!! they have a pool & fitness room. I will always look for this hotel for now on when traveling!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWAzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hello SWAzim,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review. Needless to say that is very helpful for future guests wondering about the hotel and its facilities. I was also glad to hear we would be your hotel of choice next time you're in our area. Thank you again. It's greatly appreciated.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Conveniently located near lots of restaurants. The hotel service was great, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast had lots of options and the staff was constantly working to refresh the food and coffee. We will definitely stay here again when returning to Durham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. We stayed on the front side, and they have an outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pambrinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hello pambrinck,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and thank you for your business. Both are greatly appreciated. I'm truly glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Reserved a room with 2 queens but when we checked in they only had a king room for us. The king suite is SMALLER AND HAS NO DRESSER. For the 100+ a night its way overpriced. Who wants to travel and live out of their suitcase for days? Im very disappointed and frustrated. We always stay here a few times a year but this will be the last time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Refskins2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hello refskins 2012,

I would like to apologize for the unpleasant stay you had. Without knowing your full name I am unable to research your reservation history to determine the circumstances you encountered. Either way, I am sorry we were unable to meet your request. Our occupancy has been very strong lately and on occasion it can lead to a situation where a request for a certain room type can not be met. That can happen for a number of reasons including a guest unexpectedly staying an extra day. I again apologize that your stay was not a more positive one.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I recently stayed at the SpringHill Suites Durham/Chapel Hill and I just wanted to say how great the service was. I booked a large group and Laura Pelletier (sales) was phenomenal in assisting with that. She went above and beyond to make sure everything went smooth before, during and after our arrival. Once we arrived and throughout our stay Jennifer Toone (front desk) provided us with EXCELLENT service. Both of these ladies are great examples of how to provide outstanding service to customers especially when dealing with 50+ people. I thank them again for a job well done. I would definitely refer this hotel. The entire look of the hotel was gorgeous, from the lobby to your room. The complimentary breakfast was GREAT. The amenities were great as well.

- Alisha D.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello ADMichigan,

Thank you for the glowing review. It is most appreciated. I'm glad to hear you and your group enjoyed their stay. I especially appreciated the kind words regarding Laura and Jennifer. Needless to say, we passed your comments onto them immediately. I appreciate your willingness to recommend uo to others and hope we will see you again. Thank You!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I just conducted a sales meeting at the SpringHill Suites and everyone on our team commented on the excellent facilities. The lobby was up-to-date & our team took advantage of the bar area to have a team drink in the evening. Everyone liked their "mini-suite" room and the sleek design of interior. The meeting room had a great set up and a large built-in screen.

The Sales Manager, Laura Pelletier provided consierge-like service from the booking process through the entire stay. She was extremely helpful in planning the menu, booking rooms, and setting up; and she was extremely responsive in ensuring all our needs were met with conference room, breaks, and resources. She even suggested a great restaurant and took care of all the reservations for our team. She was truly a pleasure to work with and personally took an interest in our experience.

We all couldn't be happier with our experience and I think this hotel offers a great value for a business meeting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello DanT73,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and thank you for your business. I'm very happy to hear you and your company felt so well taken care of. I appreciate the kind words regarding our facility and especially appreciate your comments regarding Laura. They will certainly be passed on. Thanks again!!

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Property: SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Address: 5310 McFarland Rd, Durham, NC 27707-6831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing