We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room layout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Great room layout”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Loved the layout of the 2 queen/sofabed suite! It was spacious with plenty of room for the family. Really liked how the bathroom was divided into two separate rooms; one with a toilet and sink and the other with the shower and a sink. This layout works well for families. Will definitely stay here again when in the area!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Hello Julie E.,

Thank you for staying with us as well as the kind comments. Both are greatly appreciated. Guest feedback is critical in our attempt to improve our guest's experience. Come back and see us soon.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    130
    39
    15
    4
See reviews for
256
68
29
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Tierene, Front Desk Staff, was such a pleasure to work with. She assisted with my reservation and was such a joy. She was very pleasant and friendly and maintained a smile. After traveling all day, it is refreshing to meet a smiling pleasant inidivual. Please keep your pleasant dispostion!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Hello Pam B.,

Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, Tierene in particular. Feedback such as yours is truly appreciated. I would also like to thank you for staying with us and hope we will see you again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed he for three nights, based on prior reviews. Very nice, clean, quiet hotel (the fan runs continuously in the room, which, although quiet, makes for a nice white noise). Good full breakfast although eating spaces are limited. Rooms are large and slept our family of 5 without a problem. We even had room to move around. Location is excellent, between Durham and Chapel Hill and right next to a large shopping area with numerous restaurants such as Panara, Moe's, Applebee's, etc. The only slight negative was that housekeeping did not refill the tissues or cream and sugar despite a nice tip. But that is a minor negative. Overall, were very very pleased and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dracodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Hello Dracodad,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate the feedback, good or bad as it helps us improve our overall operation. Again, we thank you and look forward to seeing you again.

Ted Franzese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We visit the Research Triangle often and usually stay with relatives. This Christmas we needed a hotel and chose this one because of the location and because we like "suite" accommodations. We were completely satisfied an all accounts.

The location is near Hwy 15-501 and I-40 on the western side of the Research Triangle Park and between Durham and Chapel Hill. Aside from the convenience to Durham and Chapel Hill, it was easy to visit family in N. Raleigh and Cary/Apex. Adjacent to the hotel is a nice shopping area with many choices for eating and a nearby Barnes & Noble.

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The suite layout was great, and my wife especially liked that the toilet (with a sink) was separate from the shower. The shower had a nice vanity area, and there was another area that could be used as a vanity in the bedroom. If your family has multiple ladies, this will speed things up as two or more can have plenty of space for primping. The room was well-equipped and everything worked. the beds were comfortable, but that is a personal preference. There is also a big walk-in closet and ample space to put your suitcases, so no tripping and stumbling over them. The sitting area was comfortable and there was a nice desk. Lighting was good. Another nice plus was that there were small tables that could be moved around and combined or used separately, so you could have a coffee table, TV tables for eating, extra bedside tables, or a laptop table at the couch -- very versatile!

The beds have comforters and there was no blanket in the closet. That means you can either turn up the heat and use the sheet or turn it down and cuddle. If I set the thermostat at a normal setting, I will sweat under a comforter. All the hotels that I have stayed at in recent times use comforters, so this is not a distinguishing characteristic.

Breakfast was good and plentiful, and the eating area was very clean.

This place is a winner.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2011

During my stay at Springhill Suites it was great i loved the breakfast and the front desk staff Dave was very helpful and showed great customer service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This hotel is a great option if you are staying in the Chapel Hill/Durham area. It is convenient to both towns, clean and modern. I have stayed here over 10 times (for both work & leisure) in the last year and have never been disappointed. I do wish that they had a few healthier options on the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kortni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is my third visit to the SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill. The hotel has met all of my expectations. The personnel are very professional and friendly, rooms are clean and spacious, well maintained property, great breakfast, and a convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Property: SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Address: 5310 McFarland Rd, Durham, NC 27707-6831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#6 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing