We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Lunch!”
Review of Dos Perros

Dos Perros
Reserve with OpenTable
Dos Perros is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 771 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Parrish
Kent, Wa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing Lunch!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My coworker and I stopped in to try out a new location to host a work dinner. The margaritas were really good, the quesadillas and tacos were amazing, and the guacamole was some of the best I've ever had. The only thing that was average were the chips.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    90
    27
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for events at DPAC”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We ate at Dos Perros mainly because it's a block and a half from the Durham Performing Arts Center where we were seeing a concert. It was a Sunday evening and "taco night" at the restaurant. This allowed us to mix and match soft taco fillings (each cost $3). We started with different kinds of margaritas (there are classic versions as well as fruity and cooling varieties--try the mango or the cucumber--and also spicy ones, all of them excellent). One member of my party had the chile relleno, which came artfully presented on a large plate smothered with a bean sauce. I and the other member of our party had various soft tacos--chicken, pork, and shrimp--which were excellent. We splurged a little (each of us had three drinks) and we enjoyed the excellent guacamole appetizer. The bill was $120 but much of this went to the drinks; otherwise the price would have been quite reasonable. Service was friendly and good, chips and salsa flowed, and the ambiance was relaxed and comfortable in a pleasant interior with wooden tables. Would definitely go here again for a DPAC show, though it's a bit far for us normally (from Raleigh).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorCompRhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unique- but pretty limited”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

After a lot of recommendations, we tried Dos Perros- looking for authentic Mexican in the Triangle. The food was good, but the menu is pretty limited and not much of what I would call traditional. Rather, a number of special house recipes.
Everything tasted very good, nice rich flavors and good size portions but not what we were looking for that night- hoping for more traditional entrees.
The bar options were pretty limited. We sat at the bar and the service team (3 people) seemed pretty overwhelmed, resulting in slow service with a bit of an attitude.
Also a bit pricier than expected- our tab for two entrees, 4 cocktails was over $100.
I can't agree with the ratings of "Best in the Triangle". Overall, we'd pick Mez (also in Durham) as the best in the area. Give it a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COtraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had a reservation before DPAC. Worked out well. Recommend that you have a 5:45 reservation for a 7:30 show. Service was very good. We enjoyed the chips and salsa. Had the Guava Habanero Margarita. MUY Calliente. Nice place and good food. easy walk.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beaufort1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,085 reviews
529 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“The best in Mexican cuisine in the Triangle”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We revisited Dos Perros on my wife's birthday, and it was better than ever. We came on a Sunday evening and were pleasantly surprised with a newly inaugurated taco night and reduced price margaritas (Sunday and Monday nights). The restaurant is cheerily decorated and very clean - that extends to the bathrooms, which most restaurants sadly neglect. The margarita menu is extensive, with several chile flavored selections. My wife picked the mango cayenne margarita. I had the taco plate that came with a large portion of fillings for the fresh corn tortillas as well as delicious whole beans rather than the usual refried beans, rice, and pickled veggies. My wife had some luscious lamb enchiladas. We topped off the meal with excellent tres leches cake. All totaled, the bill came to $46 plus tip. Dos Perros is a great place to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dos Perros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing