We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Your Everyday Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dos Perros

Dos Perros
Reserve with OpenTable
Dos Perros is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 764 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Parrish
Durham
Level Contributor
350 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not Your Everyday Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Dos Perros has become one of my favorite Mexican choices in the Triangle. While it's not uber expensive, its prices prohibit eating there on a daily basis, but it's really worth the little extra.

Thoughtfully prepared foodie fare from South of the Border and cocktails to make you drool. Main dishes range from vegan to vegetarian, along with chicken, lamb, beef, pork, and seafood. I love their house-made chorizo.

Their greatness doesn't start and end with their entrees. Start your meal with delicious appetizers. The guacamole is consistently divine. End your meal with all kinds of temptations from the requisite flan to chocolate mole ice cream. The dulce de leche cake is wonderful, and even better is the jalapeno-lime sorbet... when it's available.

For awesome, creative, foodie Mexican fare, you can't go wrong with Dos Perros.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdRockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    89
    27
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food along with amazing cocktails:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Our (adventurous) family of five enjoyed dinner at Dos Perros-- complete with specialty drinks...a great time was had by all! Our favorite appetizers were the guacamole and the plantain fritters; favorite entrees were the skirt steak, the ycatan chicken, and the lamb enchiladas; and our favorite drinks were the mango-cayenne margarita, the fresk-juice margarita, and the sangria. If you ever find yourself near Durham, this is a definite stop for an unusual twist on both food & drink.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank slbpetvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had a great dinner at Dos Perros. Food was great. Service was great. A little pricey for mexican, but way above average food, so I thought it was a good value. Great mixed drinks. Sangria was fantastic. We had the lamb enchiladas.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Before-Show Dinner Spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

A group of us made a reservation for dinner last week at Dos Perros prior to attending a play at the Durham Performing Arts Center (DPAC) in Durham.

The restaurant can probably be best described as an upscale Mexican restaurant. It was crowed but our table was ready and the wait staff was friendly and quite professional. The waitress asked if we were going to the play and said she would make sure we enjoyed our meal and were out on time. She did and we did.

Having eaten at Dos Perros once before, I was not surprised that the menu had changed. This is not your typical "Tex-Mex" type chain restaurant. The menu offered quite a variety and everything was fresh and tasted delicious. I wish I could offer a better menu description but all but one in our group ordered the same entree, which was shrimp with an interesting but delicious sauce similar to a shrimp creole but a slightly more Mexican flavor. It was served with rice,beans and tortillas. The beer and wine list was varied and the bar offers a variety of drinks, not the least of which are the margaritas. They looked very good !

If one is visiting downtown Durham, this is a stop that's well worth the effort.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birdieputt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Two girlfriends and I ate an early dinner at Dos Perros and everyone really enjoyed the meal. I had the special, which was Striped Bass on Polenta. My friends had the chicken and the shrimp meals. The Margaritta was terrific. Our server was friendly and helpful. The meal was a little pricy for "normal Mexican," but this was far from normal. I felt it was well worth it. We would all go back.

Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dos Perros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing