We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded every expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The King's Daughters Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceeded every expectation”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I spent five nights in this charming inn while exploring Durham. Everything was fabulous, from the comfort and beauty of the room to the fabulous home cooked breakfasts. Everyone was helpful and service-oriented, doing everything possible to create a wonderful guest experience. I enjoyed the tea each afternoon, as well as the port and truffles that were left bedside each night. The tea menu was extensive, and it was served elegantly on a tray with sweets, whenever and wherever it was requested. The classical music playing in the breakfast room created a peaceful atmosphere in which to start the day. Cold drinks were available to guests any time. While I didn't make use of the iPads provided in each room, as I had my own, it was a nice amenity, as was the large screen tv. The location was very central, and I was able to walk almost everywhere. Deanna provided great recommendations for where to eat, allowing me to get real local flavor, not just the tourist experience. I can't recommend this place highly enough. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    19
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
66
102
38
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Outstanding boutique hotel near downtown Durham. The hotel is in a vintage building restored to 1920's splendor. The rooms are delightful, the service is great and staff is friendly and knowledgeable. If you are visiting the Research Park this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I live in Durham, but have used the KDI for 2 anniversary get aways over the last 3 years. We highly recommend staying here if you need to get away or if planning on a visit to Durham. The KDI is much more like a small hotel then a B and B. The service is great and friendly. The rooms have large screen TV with cable and HBO, very comfy beds and ipad for the internet. Breakfast is very good. It is so nice to within walking distances of 2 of our favorite places to eat, Pops and Watts Street Grocery. We had a fabulous time away and I am sure we will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a lovely stay here several nights in early May. Although it is listed as a B&B, the KDI feels more like a small boutique hotel. The corridors and public areas are very large and airy, having much more space than the usual B&B. But it does have nice B&B features--great breakfasts and beautifully & individually decorated rooms, plus little treats like port & chocolates at night. The common areas are also very attractive, and because of them, you have a more private experience than the typical converted house. Both the owners and the staff were both welcoming and extremely helpful. Most rooms seem to have a sitting area--ours did, with well functioning lamps, too! A very good value and a lovely place to relax while in Durham.

Green Features: Among other practices, the KDI recirculates laundry water in a very green way--kudos to them.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Esq.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A beautiful place, great service, lots of charm, and within walking distance of Duke and many places to eat, We stayed in the Watts room. Lovely decor and a super comfortable bed. We even had an iPad provided in our room to use with the wireless. Nice bathroom, but upon close examination the craftsmanship of the shower during the remodel is lacking...I hope it does not get old looking too fast. Shower water pressure is great. Nice towels and robes provided. Port wine and chocolates were by our bedside when we returned from dinner.. No refrigerator in the rooms which was too bad because we wanted to chill a couple of drinks, but they said there was a refrigerator we could use somewhere even though we did not use it, I will stay there again when we visit!

Room Tip: View pictures of the rooms online to find one you like.
See more room tips
Green Features: Was remodelled with energy saving and Eco friendly materials.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have been received extreemly friendly. The rooms are very nice, large and clean. Breakfast ok. The location is close to the main street and has also close access to the campus. Can just recookend also for parents of students.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baboutheterror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My daughter and I chose the King's Daughter's Inn as the headquarters for her recent wedding weekend and were more than pleased with the outcome. From the casual family dinner in the beautiful dining room Thursday night through the following Monday when I had to ask them to go through their trash to find a diamond necklace that had been inadvertently thrown away, every detail was flawless. (Yes, they found the necklace!) It felt like we had invited our closest friends and family to stay with us in our home where every need was met with a smile. Breakfast was deliciously made to order each morning; our beds were magically waiting for us each night with chocolate and port on the nightstands. We gathered in the large living room and first floor sun room and visited with one another to our hearts' content--it was like a big family reunion. Every request was greeted with a smile, and the staff was always friendly and helpful. We held the bachelorette party downstairs in Brody Hall on Thursday; the groomsmen dressed and had lunch and photos in the same place on Saturday. All in all, I would highly recommend The King's Daughters Inn to anyone who is looking for a place to gather family and friends in a congenial, beautiful setting. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: The Trinity Suite was wonderful--large, light and airy, with the fabulous sun porh. The girls of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cissie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#13 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
0.7 mi away
Durham Marriott City Center
0.9 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#23 of 71 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Daughters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Daughters Inn

Property: The King's Daughters Inn
Address: 204 N Buchanan Blvd, Durham, NC 27701-2009
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King's Daughters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing boutique luxury in an intimate urban setting, the King's Daughters Inn is Durham's premiere Inn. Relax in one of the seventeen graciously appointed one- and two- room suites, or host an event in one of three elegant meeting spaces. Located across the street from Duke University, only minutes to the Durham Performing Arts Center, the King's Daughters Inn is an excellent choice for luxury hospitality in Durham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King's Daughters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Daughters Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing