We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous accomodations done right” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The King's Daughters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The King's Daughters Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous accomodations done right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at this gorgeous hotel last summer and can't say enough grat things about our room and the hotel itself. Our room was stunning and extremely clean. Since it is across from the Duke University campus we had a beautiful view. This hotel is modern with an art deco twist. with each room being unique. The rooms are decorated with beautiful wallpapers, in wonderful colors and patters, and fresh clean linens. It has wifi and is wired even through the television and gets an A+ for technology. It is also an energy efficient hotel with all kinds of interesting gadgets that conserve energy. Since we are environmentally conscious this was a bonus for us. No expense was spared. Everything is just right even down to the delicious chocolates we found in our room every night. The chocolates were made by a local chocolatier, Dolly Mama, and the chocolates were phenomenal! The hotel was renovated by a young couple who purchased the property several years ago--everything is new except for the beautiful antiques you'll find in the common areas. This was formerly a home for women whoses spouses had passed away-the history is heartwarming. Don't stay anywhere else in Durham-this is the best they've got.

Room Tip: Go online to look at the rooms in advance as each one is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BocaAttorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    19
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
65
100
37
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed here one night - the eve of our anniversary - after dropping off our son at a local camp. The room we got, the Trinity Suite, was so nice and well-appointed, we wished we could stay there a week and really enjoy more time on the porch, use the writing desk, sit in the soft chair with legs on the ottoman, etc. Check in in the late afternoon of one day and departing late morning the next just seems too quick to really let the elegance of your surroundings soak in!

The innkeepers seem to be a success story in the making. You can read about their story on the hotel website. They're the kind of young couple that you want to root for, having breathed life into this historic building and renovated it so thoroughly well for modern tastes and luxuries.

Just a few minor nitpicks - at breakfast, the layout of the tables was a little crowded - not enough walking space, and the tables tended to be large, which nearly led us to have to share a table with other guests (that's fine by me, less so with my wife, esp. for the occasion). Also, the OJ ran out and it took a good while for it to be replenished. I'd have liked to chit-chat with the innkeepers more on a social level, but they're extremely busy running the place, and seem overwhelmed at times. That's OK.

I really liked the decor of the common areas and hallways; in our room, there was one side table whose drawer was a struggle to open, and I could never get it back in. I didn't need it - I was just trying to see if a phone book was in there. Again, a minor point.

We appreciated the port and truffles left for us while we were out at dinner - that was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Preview rooms on Inn's website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cspan37421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the KDI May 23, 2011. We thoroghly enjoyed our brief stay.

The room was spacious and beatiflully appointed. The bed was comfortable, with soft linens. The robe and slippers were also a nice touch. The bathroom was spacious. We stayed in the Trinity Suite, which had a wonderful porch.

Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. Checkout was smooth. We had business at Duke University and the KDI was an easy 3-minute ride away.

We were a short ride or a long walk from some good local restaurants. Overall, an excellent place to stay and we will return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Was recently in Durham visiting friends who took us to The Kings Daughters Inn for their St Patrick's Day Tea. We really enjoyed the atmosphere and impeccable service. I have traveled extensively through England and Scotland, and the owner's homemade scones and lemon curd were the best and most authentic this side of Edinburgh; not the usual oversized American version. After tea, we wandered around the Inn and it is spectacular! I can't wait to go back to Durham. I just hope I can think of a good excuse to not stay with my friends so I can stay at here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonanzanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Many members of our family and friends stayed at Kings Daughters Inn during our daughter's wedding. The sleeping rooms and public spaces are lovely and comfortable -- great spaces for anything from a quiet getaway, to a special party, to being the headquarters for a wedding party. The inn's owners and staff pride themselves on a first-class facility and service. As we planned various events for the wedding weekend, they offered terrific suggestions and solutions, and ensured that everything ran like clockwork. Check out all the different room styles and layouts on their website. Because we had so many people in different situations, it was great to have a choice of various rooms and suite layouts (all with different decor) to accommodate singles, couples, or parents traveling with a child. Plus you get delightful homemade breakfasts, great nooks for conversation or reading, port and chocolates in your room at night, and you're right next to the lawn of Duke's East Campus. Our family and guests, as well as another family we know who held an event here, left with fond memories of being pampered at Kings Daughters.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthpawTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Durham for work recently and stayed at this Inn after reading other great reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. We were able to sample the afternoon tea and enjoyed the fabulous home made scones and lemon curd along with some little muffins. Just hit the spot after our drive.
After receiving some dinner suggestions from the staff we were amazed to learn of the variety of dining choices near by. While we did not attend DPAC this time, I will be booking a room so I can stay after a night on the town there.
Our room was beautiful, just the way I wish mine was at home, so quiet and unique.

Room Tip: View the pictures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa58C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

All too often people give an inn five stars just because they enjoyed their stay. Their opinion could be less than critical. Their base of comparison may be small. Perhaps the friendliness of their hosts has swayed their opinion.

So what are you to do when a small inn in Durham, NC creates rooms whose decor could rival an old world Grand Hotel. A place where the innkeepers attention to detail includes not only a wi-fi connection but an Apple Mac in your room. When the only reason to leave your suite's spacious climate controlled sun porch is to have your complimentary afternoon tea in the inn's beautiful common areas.

Sometimes five is just a star or two short of the perfection of the innkeepers art that you will experience at the Kings Daughters Inn.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phineasbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#11 of 70 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#25 of 70 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#5 of 70 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Daughters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Daughters Inn

Property: The King's Daughters Inn
Address: 204 N Buchanan Blvd, Durham, NC 27705
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King's Daughters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing boutique luxury in an intimate urban setting, the King's Daughters Inn is Durham's premiere Inn. Relax in one of the seventeen graciously appointed one- and two- room suites, or host an event in one of three elegant meeting spaces. Located across the street from Duke University, only minutes to the Durham Performing Arts Center, the King's Daughters Inn is an excellent choice for luxury hospitality in Durham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The King's Daughters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Daughters Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing