We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jersey Boys”

DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center
Ranked #2 of 76 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This venue opened in 2009.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Jersey Boys”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Attended 11/8/12 performance. Nothing short of outstanding. If I closed my eyes, it was as if The Four Seasons were on stage. Cast was excellent. Unlimited talent from singing, dance, and content. Took me back to the night I watched the The Four Season on Ed Sullivan. Excellent writing and direction. A must see if you like their music..Parking was excellent. We parked at DPAC parking lot. $5 total cost. Lot was 90% full and we parked on 4th deck. Took only 15 or so minutes for us to be on the street. Again, go early, park, then enjoy the restaurants and other attractions in and around the DPAC. Then fine your seat, sat back for your trip back in time. Super staff!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Eastover4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    127
    27
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rockettes Christmas Show”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I liked everything about this show. My 3 YO granddaughter was enthralled! The dancers were wonderful, the set was amazing. Loved the scened with the bus.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“tickets too pricey”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

DPAC brings in great performances...but the tickets are pricey, and the seats are not all that comfortable.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank carolinanorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for sharing this feedback. We know that a superstar night at DPAC represents quite an investment for a family purchase and we work hard to deliver a value that always exceeds the price. I have also listed below some added background on how ticket pricing works at DPAC.

The ticket prices at DPAC have several driving factors. First and most importantly, they are contractually set by the show we are hosting. Sometimes we can influence these prices and we always push for a variety of price points, set in relation to the closeness to the stage. For our biggest shows like Wicked, prices ranged from $25 to over $125. Overall though, most shows have an average price that is in the $50 to $60 range. For guests that come often like our SunTrust Broadway season seat members, added savings on season tickets can range from 10% to as much as 50%.

Secondly, the ticket prices are usually set in proportion to what an attraction is charging to perform. Example: You will see ticket prices for a show that is paid $100,000 per performance at a higher level than ticket prices we charge for a show that is paid $50,000.

From every each ticket purchased, between 60% to 90% of the ticket revenues go to the touring show. This leaves very little for us to cover our show expenses and operating overhead, which annually runs about $5 million. It's also important to know that DPAC receives no government subsidies and thus all parts of our operation must be self-sustaining.

For many of our Broadway shows there are specially priced seats in the balcony for students and their families priced at just $15 each. You can always see a list of these special offers on our website page titled "Special Offers".

I hope this background is helpful. Thanks again for your kind words and support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A delightful way to experience any event”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

This is our 6th visit to DPAC for concerts, comedy and broadway shows. Everyone from the parking staff to the theater staff are great. We have never had a bad experience here and we drive over an hour to be here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Johntesh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, Buzzing with Energy and Talent”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's high energy with every aspect done well> ladies rooms are a science there; the Doorman and Doorlady remember you, the martini bar has mixologists with pretty nails and attitude, the theater seats have leg room, the stage is huge, the shows are first rate, location is a abuzz with Durham southern style and waterfalls along the path, and yet it feels lighter than lemon merange pie, not old and stuffy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center also viewed

 

Been to DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing