We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happening Place!”
Review of Mez

Mez
Reserve with OpenTable
Mez is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 774 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Slater Road
Transit: Mez is located just steps away from the Triangle Transit Authority's bus stop on the corner of Slater Road and Page Road. We are also within walking distance of the Triangle Transit Authority's new Transfer Station slated to come online in the fall of 2008.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Happening Place!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

As a business traveler, this is an excellent choice. Conveniently located near RDU airport and the Research Triangle Park. Friday afternoon lunch and the place was packed. Nonetheless, the service was quick and attentive and the food's good. We sat outside as it was much quieter for our meeting. Wine list is weak, but you don't go to MEZ for the wine selection. A great lunch and drinks-after-work place

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    152
    65
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just dined for one while traveling on business. Gotta say, the food was yummy, the place was busy and upbeat and enjoyed myself. I had the baja fish tacos and they were good. I requested a side order of guacamole and it was worth the request. The only thing that would have been better was the margarita (the Mez) It was just average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3mantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Popular but why?”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I think this restaurant has so-so food which makes it seem pricey. At lunch time it is very popular and it is a convenient place to meet people working in the triangle area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrjack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but the food looks better than it tastes”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Let me start off with the positives about this place: the atmosphere is terrific. It's a gorgeous space with high ceilings, two floors of dining and a wide, inviting bar. Also, it's comfortable and attracts a nice professional class of people from the RTP and no one is rushed through lunch. Also, the presentation of the food is excellent and everything looks great. However, the quality of the food really isn't there. I ordered shrimp flautas and while the shrimp were good (and I got many of them), the flautaus tasted like microwave taquitos. Also, my date's Enchiladas de Pollo were covered in an overpowering sauce and the chicken wasn't very good either. Plus, the service wasn't the best, we rarely saw our waiter and he recommended the special, then told us they were out of it two minutes later.

I expected a bit more for $27 before tip for two.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sal_Paradise767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, although food wasn't anything to write home about”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, although food wasn't anything to write home about. Very large dinning room which was quite full at the time our group came. He service was nice enough but I've tasted better mex.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank YJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing