We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I left the Brookwood hotel and came here. Why did I ever betray you oh sweet and faithful Marriott? :) Everyone has been kind and helpful. Clean rooms, beautiful lobby and restaurant. Oh, and AS ALWAYS, the BEDS and PILLOWS are extremely comfortable. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaDawnCowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    92
    52
    21
    11
See reviews for
77
45
17
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice (and are about to have a third visit) while attending appointments/having surgery at Duke Univ. Hospital. The hotel is just minutes from the hospital and they are VERY accomodating to patients. Pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Little bistro serves a nice breakfast and there is a bar (overpriced). Outside there is a fire pit and comfortable couches. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Hotel is very accomodating regarding handicap accessible rooms - just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scifipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was an excellent hotel stay. Pleasantly surprised that the beds are temperpedic so had a very restful sleep. Their towels were thick and soft, unlike other places that give you worn out towels that are rough as you dry yourself. Hotel lobby was very nicely done. Overall would recommend for the price, location and overall quality

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellydoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I didn't expect much from a side of the highway hotel. If you're planning on staying more than one night, I wouldn't recommend it. I was here for a week. The rooms are fine, with a view of the highway, or the parking lot.
The lobby is very nicely renovated, with a fireplace, and couches, and work stations. The rooms are decent, as well as the beds.
I had taken the DND sign off my door when I left for work at 11am, and when I came back at 11pm, the room had not been cleaned. This happened 2 days in a row. I alerted the front desk staff, who told me I should call them when I wanted service, but no assistance or compensation was offered.
I think that you can find a similar value with a better location/service in this area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiliKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Mountain, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here one night due to weather conditions in Durham this weekend. After a meeting at Duke hospital, we found the conditions had deteriorated rapidly while we were inside. We could not safely leave the city due to snow and ice, so we found the Courtyard located nearby. I made a quick call to see if they had any rooms available and was greeted with a friendly voice saying they had room for us. When we arrived, the gentlemen working the front desk were cheerful, friendly and very efficient. The lobby was so attractive due to a recent renovation with plenty of spaces to relax yet having an intimate, cozy atmosphere. The bistro had a nice variety of appetizing selections and the young lady working there was also very friendly and helpful. Our room was adequate, though it had a dated decor. I was told the rooms would be under renovation this year. Even so, the beds were comfortable and the room clean, which was basically all we needed for our short, unexpected stay. A pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renny5903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here 1 night while visiting daughter, spouse & newborn twins in Durham. Their house was crowded because the twin’s father was sick and quarantined (by wife) to the only guest room, thus I used my Marriott Rewards points to stay here. The Courtyard was near their home. It is a standard Courtyard –clean, with friendly & efficient check-in staff, a supportive bed, but with a small bathroom (very much like one of the Fairfield Inns I recently reviewed). As a Marriott rewards person I typically stay in one of their hotels that provide a lobby breakfast (Fairfield, Residence Inn, Springhill Suites). Courtyards do not – I do not understand that? It is somewhat annoying to have to pay - what I feel is an inflated price - to eat their lobby food!!! I must admit that their towels were thicker that Fairfield towels – but other than that, I saw little to no difference. I would only stay here again due to lack of space when I visit nearby family, otherwise I would not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a fairly nice property that is reasonably well maintained. I have stayed there several times in the past. Overall, it's a very decent place with in a fairly good location. However, the rooms could benefit from some updating/upgrading. Also, one change for the worse is that they changed the buffet breakfast they used to offer for many years with an a la cart meal that is much less attractive. Most of the front desk people were nice and friendly, though one was exceptionally lethargic and had a bit of an attitude. All in all, a fairly good place to stay, though some improvements are called for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heshnosaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#42 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.4 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
1.4 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#41 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown

Property: Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Address: 1815 Front St, Durham, NC 27705-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown Hotel Durham
Durham Courtyard
Durham Marriott
Courtyard Durham Duke University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing