We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant Experience for an Unexpected Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Durham
Little Mountain, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience for an Unexpected Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here one night due to weather conditions in Durham this weekend. After a meeting at Duke hospital, we found the conditions had deteriorated rapidly while we were inside. We could not safely leave the city due to snow and ice, so we found the Courtyard located nearby. I made a quick call to see if they had any rooms available and was greeted with a friendly voice saying they had room for us. When we arrived, the gentlemen working the front desk were cheerful, friendly and very efficient. The lobby was so attractive due to a recent renovation with plenty of spaces to relax yet having an intimate, cozy atmosphere. The bistro had a nice variety of appetizing selections and the young lady working there was also very friendly and helpful. Our room was adequate, though it had a dated decor. I was told the rooms would be under renovation this year. Even so, the beds were comfortable and the room clean, which was basically all we needed for our short, unexpected stay. A pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renny5903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    83
    44
    21
    9
See reviews for
71
43
14
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
189 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here 1 night while visiting daughter, spouse & newborn twins in Durham. Their house was crowded because the twin’s father was sick and quarantined (by wife) to the only guest room, thus I used my Marriott Rewards points to stay here. The Courtyard was near their home. It is a standard Courtyard –clean, with friendly & efficient check-in staff, a supportive bed, but with a small bathroom (very much like one of the Fairfield Inns I recently reviewed). As a Marriott rewards person I typically stay in one of their hotels that provide a lobby breakfast (Fairfield, Residence Inn, Springhill Suites). Courtyards do not – I do not understand that? It is somewhat annoying to have to pay - what I feel is an inflated price - to eat their lobby food!!! I must admit that their towels were thicker that Fairfield towels – but other than that, I saw little to no difference. I would only stay here again due to lack of space when I visit nearby family, otherwise I would not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a fairly nice property that is reasonably well maintained. I have stayed there several times in the past. Overall, it's a very decent place with in a fairly good location. However, the rooms could benefit from some updating/upgrading. Also, one change for the worse is that they changed the buffet breakfast they used to offer for many years with an a la cart meal that is much less attractive. Most of the front desk people were nice and friendly, though one was exceptionally lethargic and had a bit of an attitude. All in all, a fairly good place to stay, though some improvements are called for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heshnosaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I've been staying in this hotel for several years. It's convenient to everything and everyone I need to see. Durham is my hometown and I go frequently. The staff is unfailingly polite and accommodating. Recent trip on December 13th was as pleasant as expected. The room was excellent and I especially enjoyed the yellow rubber duck for my bath. The new amenities were a huge plus. I have stayed at the one downtown several times, but I prefer this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PommeDeSang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Compared to other Courtyards that I have stayed at this place was ok. The room was not very big, and not well lit. The internet was horribly slow. The bed was very comfortable as with all Marriott properties I have stayed at, and the room was clean. The ice machine on our floor was out of commission our entire 3 day stay. No free breakfast. I will say that the lobby was very nice, and the staff was A+. TJ at the front desk gave us great restaurant recommendations both nights we were there. The hotel is centrally located and not very far from Duke, which is why I was there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Staff was nice and really liked the location. The bar downstairs was fun and the breakfast was great. For the value you can't beat this place and don't have anything bad to say. I've marked this as my hotel of choice when I do business in downtown Durham.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Traveler615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Overall a great stay, the property is nice and staff were nice and accommodating. Just think they could do a better job of communicating the deposit holds that they put on your credit card at check in. You just never want to be surprised or shut down on using your credit card because of a significant deposit hold on your card when you are on a multi-city business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bchgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#35 of 72 in Durham
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Brookwood Inn Durham
Brookwood Inn Durham
#23 of 72 in Durham
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown

Property: Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Address: 1815 Front St, Durham, NC 27705-2512
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown Hotel Durham
Durham Courtyard
Durham Marriott
Courtyard Durham Duke University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing