We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grounds Better Than The Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grounds Better Than The Rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I didn't care much for this hotel. It was more of a younger group of guest staying here. The rooms are a bit dated, rundown and musty but visibly clean. The courtyard area is well manicured and quite relaxing as well as the fitness center. The bed sheets were stained and worn but the bath towels looked brand new and were extremely soft, odd.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxDeesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    92
    52
    21
    11
See reviews for
77
45
17
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during my week-long trip.

Room was quiet and clean, and the A/C worked extremely well. Wifi works. Parking is free and I never had to worry about there not being a free space. The staff is friendly and professional.

I did not get a chance to use the outdoor pool/jacuzzi, but from my lounging area by the firepit it seemed like everyone who was in the pool was having a load of fun. There's an indoor fitness room that looks out into the pool area.

The Bistro has a limited menu of standard hotel priced food, but it suited my lazy nights in just fine. Better yet, there's a Chinese takeout and a great Italian restaurant right across the side street.

My favorite amenity was the free shuttle to Duke. You just let the front staff know you are interested in taking the shuttle and they arrange it for you. I hate driving large rental cars to try and find city parking so this was a huge bonus for me.

I would definitely stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinsena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel was very convenient to Duke hospital and the staff was great! Very hospitable and friendly. This hotel was very clean and it was close to lots of restaurants as well. I stayed there bc I had a family member who had surgery at Duke hospital and it was approximately less than 5 minute drive away. There is a cafe which you can order breakfast lunch or dinner at and the food is very good so gives you an option to not have to eat out for every meal.

Room Tip: Triple A members or marriott rewards are honored and give you a cheaper rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Though the hotel rooms are just ok, the staff at this hotel are top notch. The front desk folks were friendly, helpful and just plain nice. They have Starbucks in the lobby and Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Also Free Parking...

Room Tip: Try and get rooms on the 4 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCPRPRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Atlanta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed one night on our trip to Philadelphia and it was a good start to the trip. Recently renovated lobby adds to the hotel. The room was large with good layout, nice desk, and good bathroom arrangement. Staff were quick to respond to any request too! The Pomodoro Italian Kitchen and Pizzeria is literally next door and an easy walk through the two parking lots. It was a terrific discovery and a luck one on our part. Great service (I mean some of the best we've ever had anywhere) with seriously good Italian food. Prices are family friendly too. Overall, the Courtyard is a very nice Marriott property with good staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Docrwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjrog084, Director of Sales at Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Docrwm,

We are so thrilled your stay was excellent with us! We take pride in our great customer service and I am happy to hear we exceeded. I will certainly pass your comments along to Pomodoro's as well to let them know they are doing a great job. We hope to see you again if you are passing through Durham or visiting the area. Hope you enjoyed your trip to Philadelphia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed here while college touring. Checked-in in the middle of the night. Had requested extra towels and they had not given us more. The towels are so old and thin you need 3 to dry off after your shower.
The hotel lobby is nice and newly updated and the staff were friendly.
There is a big difference from one courtyard marriott to the next and from now on, I will read the reviews on each one before booking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debralynn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjrog084, Director of Sales at Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear debralynn2010,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and your experience with us here in Durham. We are delighted about our renovations and I do apologize about the inconveniences you experienced regarding the towels. Marriott has just finished renovating their 500th Courtyard Marriott to the new Refreshing Business Lobby. That is more than 3/4ths of the Courtyard's in the USA. You will soon find they will all be consistent again once all hotels have been completed. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Newly remodeling the lobby, the place is great. Fire pit outside near pool lit at dark with great chairs! Nice rooms, great tech in lobby, and a nostril in the place. They also have a medical discount for those with appt. At Duke hospital.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjrog084, Director of Sales at Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Ronald C,

We appreciate your positive review of our newly rennovated hotel near Duke Univeristy. We are so excited to share our new amenities with all our guests including the ones you listed. The fire pit outside seems to be a big hit, as well as all of our technological upgrades in the lobby for your use. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#40 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.4 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
1.4 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#42 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown

Property: Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Address: 1815 Front St, Durham, NC 27705-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown Hotel Durham
Durham Courtyard
Durham Marriott
Courtyard Durham Duke University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing