We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel and fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean hotel and fabulous staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

My son participated in a baseball tournament in Durham, NC and his coach researched hotels and got a special rate for our team. I was skeptical that we would really be able to call and they would have all the information and honor the rate given the coach. Every team member's family was given the same rate and it was much lower than the advertised rate. The staff was so nice and patient with the boys. This was our first tournament and the Courtyard made it a really good experience. We look forward to next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baysocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjrog084, Director of Sales at Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you very much for your great review! The staff really enjoyed having the team there over that weekend. I'm happy you enjoyed Durham and our hotel and certainly look forward to having you again in the future. Hope you enjoy the reaminder of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    92
    52
    21
    11
See reviews for
77
45
17
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Convenient location to Duke Medical Center with reasonable rates. The staff is very accommodating. The only choice for my family.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rutgersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I was required to visit Duke University, in June, for a business meeting. This hotel was so close and convenient. The staff was very friendly and personable. I travel fairly often for business and have stayed in many hotels. This hotel was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. My room was in immaculate condition when I checked in, and the public areas were also kept spotless. The great outdoor pool was an added bonus. I will, without hesitation, choose this hotel on return trips to Durham.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FootballFan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel rooms were clean and adequate. Service friendly and satisfactory.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

We were with a group of 22 from Virginia. The check-in and check-out were easy. Great breakfast with a staff that even set the table and picked up. The location was right next to a small mall which had 3 or 4 restaurants. We had easy access to the main highway, but didn't have noise. The rooms were clean and well furnished. We enjoyed the courtyard outside and the meeting areas in the lobby to congregate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Stayed here for a week in May. The hotel is in great shape, the grounds and rooms exceptionally clean and very well kept. Enjoyed the peacefulness of the courtyard pool and garden area. Great place to have coffee in the am. I was impressed with the entire staff, their friendliness and professional attitudes. It is easy to see they enjoy where they work and what they do. Speaks for a great management! Will definitely stay again when I return to Durham. Also, location makes for easy access to everything.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geo1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

My family and I traveled to Durham to attend my nephew's graduation ceremony from Duke University. We made our reservations more than 10 months ago and called prior to arrival just to confirm our rooms. We spoke with a young man at the front desk who reviewed the details of our rooms just as we had booked them so long ago and offered to get our rooms close together.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the General Manager and another manager offering a welcome buffet of sorts with a wide variety of food, beer and wine. What a pleasant surprise! This was completely unexpected. Honestly we were a bit cranky walking into the hotel, but the smiles and the wine made us relax instantly.

This is true southern hospitality and I am so glad we chose the Courtyard. Thanks to all for an incredible weekend. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#40 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.4 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
1.4 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#42 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown

Property: Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Address: 1815 Front St, Durham, NC 27705-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown Hotel Durham
Durham Courtyard
Durham Marriott
Courtyard Durham Duke University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing