We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I was required to visit Duke University, in June, for a business meeting. This hotel was so close and convenient. The staff was very friendly and personable. I travel fairly often for business and have stayed in many hotels. This hotel was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. My room was in immaculate condition when I checked in, and the public areas were also kept spotless. The great outdoor pool was an added bonus. I will, without hesitation, choose this hotel on return trips to Durham.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FootballFan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 280 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel rooms were clean and adequate. Service friendly and satisfactory.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We were with a group of 22 from Virginia. The check-in and check-out were easy. Great breakfast with a staff that even set the table and picked up. The location was right next to a small mall which had 3 or 4 restaurants. We had easy access to the main highway, but didn't have noise. The rooms were clean and well furnished. We enjoyed the courtyard outside and the meeting areas in the lobby to congregate.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Stayed here for a week in May. The hotel is in great shape, the grounds and rooms exceptionally clean and very well kept. Enjoyed the peacefulness of the courtyard pool and garden area. Great place to have coffee in the am. I was impressed with the entire staff, their friendliness and professional attitudes. It is easy to see they enjoy where they work and what they do. Speaks for a great management! Will definitely stay again when I return to Durham. Also, location makes for easy access to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geo1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My family and I traveled to Durham to attend my nephew's graduation ceremony from Duke University. We made our reservations more than 10 months ago and called prior to arrival just to confirm our rooms. We spoke with a young man at the front desk who reviewed the details of our rooms just as we had booked them so long ago and offered to get our rooms close together.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the General Manager and another manager offering a welcome buffet of sorts with a wide variety of food, beer and wine. What a pleasant surprise! This was completely unexpected. Honestly we were a bit cranky walking into the hotel, but the smiles and the wine made us relax instantly.

This is true southern hospitality and I am so glad we chose the Courtyard. Thanks to all for an incredible weekend. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Most of my travel is work related and having a good internet connection is critical. The Durham hotel, while clean and otherwise acceptable, doesn't provide the most crucial service I need. They also don't provide an ethernet based connection to bypass the poor wireless service.
My room was on the 3rd floor and the people in the room above made a tremendous amount of noise just walking around the room. The staff moved me to another room with no problem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dowatchagotado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

This hotel is weathered and is next to a busy loud highway. Very short drive to Duke University.
There is a dead bug behind the glass in the bathroom picture in room 414. Restaurant was out of bisquits but makes a great omelet.
Two very good dinner restaurants 50 yds away.
This was my third courtyard in 3 days and I was disappointed since I had very good experiences in the prior two (Clemson SC and Blacksburg VA).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlinkDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.4 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
3 mi away
Durham Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown

Address: 1815 Front St, Durham, NC 27705-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $101 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown Hotel Durham
Durham Courtyard
Durham Marriott
Courtyard Durham Duke University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing