We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd.
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place for the purpose”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a vacation place, then, no, but if you are in Durham, as I was, to tend to family getting treatment at Duke, then stay here. I found the staff very nice and accommodating. Extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast is simply coffee, oatmeal and breakfast bars. The shuttle is a wonderful service, and the drivers so nice. However, I noticed no one tipped them and I feel they should. Yes, shuttle is part of the service, but, people, they are doing you a favor and it is truly cheaper than parking. Silverware in the rooms is very limited, so if you plan on eating in your room, bring your own. The rooms were clean and everything in the room worked as expected. There is no oven, but a stove top ,microwave, coffee pot, and full size fridge. Grocery store, drug store , bagel place, pizza place within short walking distance. The free wifi worked fairly well, TV channels are limited, laundry facilities are good. Overall, I was pleased with the place, customer service, and location- in which I never felt threatened, no matter what time I was out. If you have to be in Durham, for the purpose of going back and forth to Duke for medical services, then, stay here. It serves the purpose at a reasonable price. Pets are accepted. The reviews of poor service were not my experience. I would stay here, again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtngolfer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    14
    6
    33
See reviews for
26
9
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayonne, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I would advise any and everyone do not stay at this hotel. It is dirty and disgusting. The bathroom had mole all in it and the microwave did not work. The area did not feel clean or safe for me and my family. I ended up leaving this hotel and getting a room at another hotel which was further away but much cleaner and safer.

I live in New Jersey and there is a great Extended Stay in Secaucus, New Jersey. This one in Durham just had no class about it what so ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Apologies for the length of this review.

I had chose this location following a poor experience with the Tower Blvd location. I had reserved a non-smoking room for 3 weeks for a business trip. This location is convenient to my job and has a pharmacy and grocery within walking distance. The room amenities are great for a long-term stay and the price is very reasonable.

However, I have received very poor customer service since checking in. My first room had no working iron. My second room was clearly a smoking room (musty smell, ashtray in room). I was told I would either need to wait 2 days or pay the difference to move into a larger, non-smoking room. I am displeased and considering moving to another property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed in 2013 summer for a month. The room was very comfortable and service was prompt. Cleaning is once a week and therefore non intrusive. For the price, it is great value for money and very well located - Starbucks, Harris Teeter, CVS, Quiznos and a theater across the road as well. Little India, Food Lion, Super Target, Toys R US, Pizza Hut, Sam's Club and Ross are walking distance. Some more options in breakfast would have been nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pankajjain2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

You couldn't ask for a more helpful and courteous staff. My room was clean and very comfortable. I also enjoyed the shuttle service to Duke Medical University Hospital to visit my grandson before and after his heart surgery. I got a good room rate through Duke University for my stay. The full kitchenette allowed me to prepare my own meals. A grab and go breakfast suited my breakfast needs every day. Plenty of shopping nearby and restaurants within walking distance. This is the place to stay to feel right at home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd., responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Eileen - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It's great to hear that you were so comfortable with your stay. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere, NC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have stayed at this property many times. For the price, you can't beat it for an overnight stay. It has all of the basics. The stove, microwave, and fridge come in handy. It's located about 2 minutes from a 24hr Harris Teeter grocery. As a matter of fact, it is located in the same plaza. I have used this store often because of the incredible convenience. Kim, the hotel manager / asst manager has always been a joy to deal with. She is extremely personable and helpful. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacrificeofvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd., responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It is so rewarding to read that you had another wonderful stay with us. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the Assistant Manager and staff along with the amenities that we were able to provide for you .

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was moving to Durham when I stayed here. It was amazing. The staff were very nice, helpful and courteous. Rooms were not so clean but okay. The most important thing is that they have a shuttle service to Duke

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manutd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd., responded to this review, April 30, 2013
The team and I appreciate your positive remarks. It's great to hear that our staff was courteous and helpful. We appreciate you letting us know that your room was not in-line with our company's cleanliness standards, but we are happy that you have provided us with your feedback in order to coach our staff.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
5.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 55
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
2.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 54
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#42 of 71 in Durham
132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd.

Property: Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd.
Address: 1920 Ivy Creek Blvd, Durham, NC 27707-3455 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Extended Stay America - Durham - University - Ivy Creek Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Durham University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing