We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect example of Durham”
Review of Parker and Otis

Parker and Otis
Ranked #40 of 764 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect example of Durham”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This cute little cafe is the perfect stop for a lunch time business meeting or to sit and catch up with friends. Great local products are sold their as well.

Helpful?
Thank Koconutpinksoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    46
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, NJ
Level Contributor
193 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious and fun”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Parker & Otis is a funky restaurant and store. There is a large covered area to eat outside, as well as an inside eating area. Great salads and sandwiches including delicious grilled pimento cheese and I am not normally a fan of that. Also try the green goddess tuna and blue cheese chicken salad. Coffee is also really good. There are many fun and cool kitchen things, toys, soaps, candles, wine, note cards ,and doo-dads.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best salad!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Sat out on the covered patio and savored my curried chicken salad. I am a bit of a food snob. I like it prepared with the freshest ingredients and this is what you get. Order at the counter, do a bit of shopping in their store, go out to the patio and your lunch comes!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank valfromcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super cute lunch spot”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Perfect place for a chill and relaxed lunch to catch up with friends. They have a cute little coffee/dessert bar and a counter to order sandwiches and salads imbedded into a shop that carries everything from specialty food items to soaps and greeting cards. . While waiting for our lunch, we browsed the store and found some really great candies.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Shopping”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were looking for breakfast early Saturday morning in Durham and stumbled upon Parker and Otis. What a find. Breakfast with a gift shop and lots of specialty foods. There was a coffee bar and bakery. You could also order breakfast (eggs etc.) or lunch (salads and sandwiches) from a counter.

We ordered poached eggs, fresh fruit and coffee. After you pay at the counter, you give your name and they'll find you when your food is ready. There are tables in the front of the store, but better to sit outside on the back porch. There was an assortment of parents with children, dogs and local people reading newspapers. While the food was tasty and artfully presented, the ambience was even better.

They sold fun tshirts in the gift shop with "biscuit", "beer" and "pimento cheese" on the front. We bought matching biscuit shirts to commemorate our visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baileyfirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parker and Otis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing