We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great takeout Peruvian chicken” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mami Nora's - CLOSED

Mami Nora's
Price range: $5 - $12
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great takeout Peruvian chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Have never been disappointed here. Although you can eat in, most people in the neighborhood take out. Great alternative to fast food. The chicken is wonderful and there's a good assortment of sides.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great chicken! Excellent value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Remember the Seinfeld episode where Kramer gets addicted to Kenny Rogers' roasted chicken? It's that good! My wife and I ordered a half chicken, and it was delicious (better and less expensive than Kenny's). The yucca fries were outstanding, and the chicken soup was full of flavor. Lunch for two for under ten dollars? What a bargain! We also liked that it was served on plates with silverware, instead of styrofoam and plastic utensils. We'll be back soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We're spending two days in Durham and decided to pop into this little place for lunch.
It reminded me of home, the food is truly south american without any pretensions and they had beverages that I hadn't seen in years!
Shared a meal with my girlfriend and left pleasantly content and full. Low prices, friendly, a little hard to find but worthwhile!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan Carlos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Nice change.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good alternative to the norm. The chicken and the sweet plantains were very tasty. The french fries and Yucca weren't anything special. They have two dipping sauces: a mayo one and a spicy one (again, nothing too great). The restaurant is not is the best part of town, it is closed on Tuesdays, and there is a notary connected to the restaurant, which is different. Overall, I liked my meal and I suggest going for the experience, but I don't think we will return because of the driving distance for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank uncwmel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“never lets me down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I love this place and of coarse of love the chicken! great value and the staff is always helpful and professional. It NEVER lets me down, I'll keep coming back and back. thanks

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberts S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mami Nora's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing