We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a great price!”

Tyler's Taproom and Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 764 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I can't recommend this place highly enough. I have lived in Raleigh for 5 years, and I can't believe I am only now going there. We had a coupon from one of those Entertainment coupon books, so my husband and I decided to try it out. The menu was full of delicious options, but I got a salmon salad. It was one of the best salads I have ever had, and the homemade citrus vinaigrette was to die for. The fish was fresh and blackened perfectly. My husband ordered a sandwich and it was great. The best part about this place is that for the food to be so good. the prices were very reasonable. Instead of the normal 8-11 dollars many restaurants want for their appetizers, Tyler's had several options that were much cheaper. The interior of this place is dim and makes for great bar-food ambiance. There are, of course, great beer selections on tap, and we tried several different beers that we loved. The waiter was knowledgeable about the types of beer that were best suited to our tastes, and he was very helpful. The service was fast too, even though the place was crowded. The back of the restaurant has pool tables, big TVs, etc... but it just felt like a classier place than your average sports bar. There were high top tables for 2-4 people that had personal beer taps built in! Pretty cool. We will definitely be back to this place!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    114
    53
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Excellent Beer Selection”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I went here with a friend while in town on business. It's a very large restaurant housed in a former tobacco factory. The food was fine--nothing out of the ordinary. I tried their "famous garlic fries" which were (I think) frozen french fries that were more peppery than garlicky and pretty limp. The beer selection was huge and I'm always happy to find Rogue Dead Guy Ale on tap.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Only Okay”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you like a large selection of beer and typical bar food then Tyler's is worth considering. Unfortunately, the service has much room for improvement and almost everything on the menu is laden garlic so that you walk out of the place smelling like an order of garlic fries.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunnySkiesAhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but choose wisely from the menu”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've eaten here several times when visiting our family in Durham. The salads are delicious, and the fries, both garlic and sweet potato are outstanding. This time I had the barbecue plate. The greens were salty, the pork was spicy with no sauce, and the cole slaw had too much mayonaise. I tasted my granddaughters fish and chips, and the fish was very oily with too much batter. The food did come quickly, and it was hot. Oh well, sorry about this mixed review. I wish my experience had been better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Close to DPAC”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went here before going to concert at DPAC. Close to parking garage and only five minute walk to DPAC. Pretty crowded before the concert, but only had to wait 15-20 minutes. Gave us enough time to try one of their many draft beers on tap. Great selection of beer to choose from. Food was ok, but nothing special. Price was about what you would expect to pay for a bar type atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golfer082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tyler's Taproom and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tyler's Taproom and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing