We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for those coming to the University”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good for those coming to the University”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights in the hotel in August 2014 coming to a coference in Duke University.

+ close to the Duke university campus. clean. large rooms. excellent room service.
- noisy. loud conditioning. no restaraunt inside.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alukyanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    108
    59
    26
    19
See reviews for
104
40
32
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had to go to Duke Medical System and stayed at Brookwood Inn for a week. The facility although aged is extremely convenient.to the medical center. There is a free shuttle service that leaves the hotel every half hour between 7AM and 9:30 PM that serves the medical center and all other locations within 5 miles of the hotel. You are given a card with a number to call for pickup. They fetched us at the medical center within five minutes. Our room (701) was spacious with a king sized bed, reclining chair, dresser, desk and a large flat screen tv.. The bathroom was very clean and great towels. There was plenty of hot water but the pressure in the shower cold use some improvement. There is a restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch. The food was good and the servers were very friendly and helpful. Some people have complained about it being overpriced, but is on par with the area. Thehotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Cookies are available in the afternoon. There is ample free parking. We plan to stay thereagain inSeptember.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Spent one night at the Brookwood Inn after having surgery at the hospital. Even though I was out of it for most of the time, I would have to say this is the cleanest hotel I've ever stated. There was not even a hotel smell to the place. I would definitely stay another time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctyner1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

All the staff I met were extremely friendly. This type of service is exactly what the doctor ordered! The courtesy van was a great service getting to the various buildings at Duke and business within a. 3 mile radius.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaConner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I had a discrepancy at check it, the general manager knew if it and proceeded to WALK OUT THE DOOR SAYING "I DON'T CARE, I'M GOING HOME"! Leaving me waiting and waiting unable to check into my room because the staff didn't have the knowledge to correct the issue! I would not recommend this hotel... There are so many other choices with much better service!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rachelohrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Brookwood Inn is closet hotel to the main hospital at Duke. I didn't have any complaints about the place. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean. This hotel is perfect for anyone who has to use the VA hospital or Duke. I din't have to drive anywhere or use a parking deck. They always had coffee and they had free cookies in the afternoon. My mother-in-law used the shuttle and was very pleased. The fitness room isn't the greatest but it helped me run off some of the stress of sitting in a hospital room all day. I will stay here again the next time I visit the hospital.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chilly53d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at this Brookwood in May 2013 and I wrote a review that was great cause our stay was great. This time we visited June 2014 and the stay was not as great as just one year ago.

Again the Brookwood is very convenient for the medical center and the school. Our request for upper floor was honored and we were on the 8th floor. I did not notice the "FRESH" smell that I had noticed in May 2013, not in the hallways or the room so I did have to wind up using my Febreeze for our room. It didn't smell bad - just Febreeze freshens it up. The Executive King is a very nice room. Large king bed, refrig, microwave, desk, chair, safe, and a large TV. Bottled water is provided complimentary daily which is very nice. The bed is comfortable but the pillows are small. Every day I meant to ask for an extra pillow but I always forgot. I love that the towels in the bathroom are cream (khaki) colored instead of your standard white.

Although my last review said the a/c worked great, this year not so much so perhaps it was this particular room cause we were warm most nights. It just did not seem to adequately cool the room. Again it was quite warm in Durham during our stay. Although we put the thermostat down to 67, it never got even close to that and many nights we had to kick off the covers during our sleep. Thankfully I brought a small portable fan for my bedside and I had to use it most nights we were there.

The staff is kind and when we checked in they had warm cookies on the registration counter which was really nice but I did not recall from the previous year so it may be a new thing. We didn't see them again after that first night however we returned later in the evening every day.

There is a safe in the room but we had no problems with our belongings left in the room. But it is nice that they have it for your convenience. The shower is nice and water pressure good. They have lots of plugs for charging all your electronics which is also very nice.

Although it is a good price and very convenient, I think if we had to come back to Durham we would probably not stay at the Brookwood because of the a/c situation. Maybe it was just the unit for our particular room that failed us. We got up and out every day so we were not able to be there for them to come in and repair it and moving to another room would have been a huge pain. Hotel staff (housekeeping??) should be on top of knowing which rooms have efficient equipment and guests should not be subjected to "trying out a room" just to find out something does not work. Changing a room after moving everything in is really a huge hassle! So just be mindful of that if like me you require very cool temperature for sleeping.

Room Tip: I always ask for upper floor away from elevator cause some elevators make dings or gongs which can i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.0 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#41 of 71 in Durham
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
0.9 mi away
Millennium Durham
Millennium Durham
#36 of 71 in Durham
713 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University

Property: CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Address: 2306 Elba St, Durham, NC 27705 (Formerly CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Cambria Hotel & Suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area is a boutique style hotel close to campus, the hospital and Durham VA. A delicious breakfast and dinner are offered, and the hotel also boasts a bar. Rooms consist of king or two queen size beds, each with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, Keurig coffee makers and large work surfaces. Enjoy the modern feel of hard wood floors and faux brick wall accents. A business center and meeting facilities are available as well. The hotel is only minutes away from Durham Bulls Athletic park, downtown businesses, the historic district and the convention center, Duke Homestead, Sarah P. Duke gardens, Duke Chapel and convenient to area shopping malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookwood Inn Durham Near Duke University Hotel Durham
Brookwood Hotel Durham
Brookwood Hotel Duke University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing