We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park
Ranked #57 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The staff was incredible ! This is a great place to stay !There is no fitness center or pool here. It is just a basic functional extended stay hotel. The walls are a little thin but not unbearable. Everything you could possibly need is within walking distance.(Seriously).

Room Tip: I personally prefer rooms above the first floor as people tend to sit out down there at night but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy C, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 45 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Possibly the worst hotel that I have ever stayed at.

When I arrived there was no one manning the front desk. There was only a sign reading that they had stepped out, and there was no bell to ring either. I must have stood there for almost 10 minutes before anybody came in. That is just what I needed after a five hour drive. To make matters worse when the staff member finally did come in there was no acknowledgement of the situation. No "sorry to keep you waiting" or anything like that. Leaving the front desk unmanned is apparently par for the course with this hotel.

Now for the room. No coffee or shampoo was in the room. The staff did a terrible job of cleaning the bathroom. There were pubic hairs left all over the place in the tub. There were some cabinets in the room that had such old doors that the wood on them had expanded and warped.

The place was very noisy. The walls were really thin, so you could hear everything that was happening outside and in the next room.

If all that weren't bad enough then I opened the refrigerator. That produced one of the worst smells that I have experienced in my life. I would have demanded another room after experiencing that, but the office is unmanned again from 11pm to 7am. There was only a phone there that you could use to contact someone in case of an emergency.

And of course the unfriendly staff didn't bother to ask how my stay was when I checked out in the morning.

This place is awful, awful, awful, awful, awful!! Some hotels are five stars this one is five awfuls!! Avoid it like the plague, but if you must stay here then for heavens sake don't open the fridge in room 134.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudeY863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy C, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The situation you described regarding the refrigerator is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are coaching and retraining the staff. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at drt@extendedstay.com. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel is clean, quiet, and well-managed. Staff are always pleasant and willing to help out. I sincerely recommend the Crossland in Durham for either overnight or extended stays. Over the months I've stayed there, there have been no problems of any sort. If equipment fails or isn't up to speed, the situation is resolved without delay.With its 0700-2300 desk hours, access to help is almost always to hand in the case of difficulty.

Although the Crossland isn't especially close to shopping centres and other service facilities, driving distance to everything one might need is short, just minutes away.

All in all, I consider the Crossland to be a huge value for the buck.

Room Tip: I enjoy bottom-floor rooms out of high-traffic areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zdykj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roadwarriornc, Regional Director of Operations at Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that Staff, Service and Product all met your expectations. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

As a long time resident, I have enjoyed my stay here at Crossland. Both Management and Staff has been GREAT and is very professional and friendly. They make sure that you enjoy your time - whether is long or short. The property provides basic room and kitchenette that is convent to work, shopping and entertainment. Location is quiet late at night which surprised me. Let me say this, I would highly recommend this location for basic travel or extended stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roadwarriornc, Regional Director of Operations at Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

"I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a ""home away from home"" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staff here is great. I honestly have never met more friendly staff in any hotel! They do there best to make sure you have a great extended stay! They know the area also and are helpful anf informative. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjmasika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roadwarriornc, Regional Director of Operations at Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

"It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. Our company motto is ""Excellence Every Day, Every Way,"" and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

All entrances are outside, like motel style. There are three floors and there is an elevator as well as stairs to get to your floor. I was able to book the room by phone easily. There was no incidental charge/hold. They had a AAA member discount. The room had two beds and a kitchenette, however there was only a pot and a spatula/turner. The kitchenette had 2 smaller burners, a mini fridge, and a sink. The bathroom is shower only. The grout/caulking in the bathroom and kitchen could use a redo soon but doable for a night or two. The beds are not the most comfortable but again, it will do for a night or two.This hotel was for one night and very basic. No breakfast, no coffee, no pool, no extras period! Stores are close and very convenient to this location. There are several food places and a grocery store near by. The golden coral buffet is in the same parking lot. There is also a walgreens down the street. This place is about 6 miles from S Miami Blvd in durham via Highway 54 to Highway 55, not too far but not the closest to some of durham's businesses.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roadwarriornc, Director of Operations at Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed the location and the value of the hotel, we listen to our guests and take each of the comments provided to us as we continue to update our facilities. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This extended stay is utilitarian - it's a small room with a decent bed, a tiny kitchenette, a good bathroom/shower and really nice, accomodating staff. I went out and bought a few things for the kitchen as I'm here for a full month. Next time I'll bring them from home. The internet is sketchy - fine for email and such, but too slow to stream anything. I suspect that's pot luck by location in the place. The digital controlled ac/heater is really excellent and dead quiet, btw.

All in all, I'm quite comfortable. The property shares a parking lot with an excellent Golden Corral. Since I'm here doing a low carb program at Duke, that works out perfectly for me. :))

I don't think there is a better value for the money, the location and the comfort in the area. VERY GOOD.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HENRYBLAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roadwarriornc, Regional Director of Operations at Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, we are reviewing the Wifi speed and continue to upgrade each of your facilities in this area. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Triangle Park
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 54
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 55
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn RTP
Comfort Inn RTP
#52 of 71 in Durham
101 reviews
6.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park

Address: 5008 Nc Highway 55, Durham, NC 27713-9433
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $52 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crossland Durham – Research Triangle Park is your top choice for extended-stay accommodations in Durham, North Carolina. Our hotel is right off the highway, offering easy access to local businesses in the nearby Research Triangle Park, attractions, and anything else that brings you to the area. During your stay, you can enjoy free Wi-Fi, on-site laundry, and in-room kitchens and kitchenettes. We’re even pet friendly* so you can bring your beloved furry friends with you. *$15 pet deposit fee required. One pet per room. No pets over 35 lbs. permitted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossland Economy Studios Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing