We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Poopa Cabana” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poopa Cabana”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Sadly we chose location over value. Pet friendly is one thing, not cleaning the elevator is another. Thankfully we only had one level to climb the stairs to avoid the smell of poop in the elevator.

Although we were offered free wi-fi, when we called the front desk to communicate our inability to connect we were told to call *916, select option 3, then select another option which she could not remember. After calling and communicating our location and room #, we were told that we needed to be transferred to someone else. The next person said he would help us. After about 3 minutes he said he would figure out the problem and call us back in 10 minutes. You guessed it! He didn't call us back. Other then being able to access the internet for 12 seconds every 6 hours, we gave up.

When checking in, make sure they don't give you room 202, smelling of smoke although a non-smoking room (they said they would make note of it). You can always ask for a cot (for $10.00) and sleep in the lobby, where they have a TV and internet access!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    229
    79
    28
    15
See reviews for
351
129
63
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed there to visit Duke University, and it is located 7 minutes away from the campus. Very clean, spacious rooms, nice garden patio, indoor pool, and nice breakfast room with free hot breakfast. Matresses are very comfortable

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Beautiful courtyard, Very clean with a unique structure. I felt very safe, there was a decent variety of breakfast foods but the beds were uncomfortable; my daughter and I both woke up with aches and pains and felt very un-rested. There was little to no insulation in the walls and an out of date "order out " menu, which means the prices were 33% higher than listed on the menu. ($33 for 2 spaghetti plates!)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

All the other hotels were booked and they only had a suite witch we were told i had a full pull out bed. come to find out it has a small single bed. when we got here the was a dead bug on the a/c, nasty bathroom, sticky floors, and rude help that does not care about you or how you feel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Well-maintained property, courteous and helpful staff, clean room. Noise from passersby in the hall comes under the door, but that never lasted long. Easy-to-get-to location and not at all difficult to access the major interstate highways within a mile or so of the property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytona beach ,fl, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

it was a good trip overall ...we did have to listen to dogs barking a few times a night...and the laundry (both washer and dryer) were broke for more then a day and the day shift desk clerk didn't know they were broken...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I booked a five night stay in July at this La Quinta because the hotels where I usually stay were full. I was disappointed by the dated furnishings in the room and the less than clean bathroom. This was the first time that I stayed in a place that caters to dog owners and I had asked if I could have a room away from pets because of allergies. I was surprised to hear a dog barking from the room across the hall each morning. The breakfast offerings were limited.

I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieqRockville_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
6.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
3.7 mi away
Brookwood Inn Durham
Brookwood Inn Durham
#24 of 72 in Durham
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Address: 4414 Durham Chapel Hill Blvd, Durham, NC 27707-2509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#13 Family Hotel in Durham
#16 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, LaQuinta and Orbitz so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suite Durham/Chapel Hill Hotel Durham
La Quinta Durham
Durham La Quinta
La Quinta Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing