We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and staff, need to get door locks fixed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the La Quinta. The room was clean with a few patched areas on the walls but still clean.
The staff was really nice and helpful. The inner courtyard by the pool is a great place to sit and smoke at night.
Breakfast was good.
Here's my only problem. My room key (credit card style) did not work when I first checked in so I had to go up to the second floor, try my key, go back down to the desk, get it reprogrammed, and go back up. No big deal except that every time I left my room, the same thing happened. I ended up with 3 room keys and at times, none of them worked and back down to the desk I went. The odd thing was that I had stayed at this same La Quinta a few years ago and had the same room and the same problem. Its room 235. They really need to fix it.
I hate to even gripe about that but it was a pain. The staff was so nice that I don't want this to reflect on them.

Room Tip: Check to make sure you are not having lock problems on your room before you settle in. You may want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnhappywithAtlRamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 949 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were able to get a room for the night while in Durham to visit my old campus. Room was clean, quiet, without any problem. Desk staff were also efficient and nice. Breakfast was the usual type. Would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Westminster CO
11
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just wanted to take this opportunity to let the staff at the Durham Chapel Hill LaQuinta know how much we enjoyed our visit. From the reservation call that I made to the hotel just a little over two weeks before our stay (over the busy graduation weekend), to our week's stay, I just wanted you all to know how great our stay was. Everyone was kind, helpful, professional, despite it being a very busy time. I wouldn't change a thing! We had stayed at a LaQuinta in St. Louis and weren't impressed, but decided to try again and this time... BINGO! We'll be back. Loved everything about our stay. The room was very clean and very room... lots of space and comfortably arranged. The bed was ultra comfortable. I had a refrigerator and a microwave for the same price as a Quality Inn hotel room down the street without these amenities and that room would have been half the size of the room we had. When we arrived there were two bottles of water and a whole host of snacks waiting for us in the room. Impressive!!! Thank you!!! Looking forward to our next stay the beginning of August!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Durham, North Carolina, USA
1
Reviewed May 15, 2013

La Quinta in Durham is great. Clean and very nice premises and room, very nice king mattress and room. I loved the little patio just off the lobby. Hotel is convenient to Hwy 15/501 and South Square mall but not close to downtown Durham.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

On checking in, the front desk service was more than friendly which was particularly nice because the service road the hotel is on looks a little sketchy at first. It's a good price for the area and the property seems well-kept. The room was pretty quiet, more so to other rooms' noise than to hall noise, and seemed fairly clean until I found several unwanted curly hairs in the bed, including one on the pillow. Finding hair is a major turn off to me and really dampened my evening. Also, I don't sleep well in hotels in general and this particular trip I had an important meeting in the afternoon. I planned to take advantage of the hotel's reasonable check out time by getting a little more rest, but housekeeping woke me up pretty early by pounding on my door twice. I know this happens lots of places but there really has to be a better way.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewiscb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Bellbrook, Ohio, USA
1
Reviewed May 13, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank sakhan0196
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
3.7 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill

Address: 4414 Durham Chapel Hill Blvd, Durham, NC 27707-2509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#11 Family Hotel in Durham
#16 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $95 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suite Durham/Chapel Hill Hotel Durham
La Quinta Durham
Durham La Quinta
La Quinta Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing