We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2012

While visiting Durham on business, I spent two nights here. I had not been to this hotel in many years, and am pleased to write that it is as nice or nicer than it was when it first opened and I stayed here (pet-friendly, too!) over 10 years ago. I was so tired I slept nearly 10 hours both nights, and the bed was very comfortable and sleep-friendly! The back has a heated pool, a large courtyard, and a private gazebo where I would sit and unwind after a tiring day. It was a mid-week stay, and not too busy. All staff were friendly and helpful. Kudos for having hard-boiled eggs on the free breakfast menu, good protein to start out the day with. Easy to park, and trolleys available to wheel your luggage into and out of the hotel. Usually I take a suite when traveling, but the regular size room was quiet and large enough to feel like a mini-suite, including a microwave and small fridge and sitting and office area. Very close to excellent shopping and dining areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, it is much more quiet and a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

869 - 875 of 937 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a college visit to Duke. The hotel is only about 15 minutes drive to the university. It is located in a nice area, with easy access. It also had decent complimentary breakfast choices (hard boiled eggs, yogurt, waffles, bagels, etc). The lobby looked really nice and impressive. Rooms are nice and clean. The only downside is the paper thin wall, as all conversations in the hallway can be heard easily, not to mention door closings or nearby rooms. If one happen to stay during non-busy days, this would not be an issue at all. On the other hand, if there were a lot of guests, especially college age ones having a party outside, one can argue the night might be better spent by just joining their party.

Room Tip: Try to request a room at the end of the hallway, hoping to lessen the hallway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_and_Learn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The property and rooms are clean and attractive. Louver doors separate the bedroom and sitting area in the suite areas. Nice and clean mini-fridge and microwave behind doors in a little mini bar area. The breakfast consists of bagels, muffins, toast, cereal ,yogurt, fruit and make your own waffles along with juices, milk and coffee. The pull out sofa bed was uncomfortable and there were no additional blankets or pillows in the room for the sofa bed. Otherwise the king bed was comfortable and the suite room layout provides nice space. The staff was polite and the pool area and property were clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtrip1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Everything here was great. Clean room, friendly staff, great pool, and good breakfast. The only problem is how the city, or state allowed the access road to be cut off, and have terrible access.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hesperia, California, USA
12
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This hotel was okay for the price. My only complaint would be that my room was not automatically vacuumed during our six night stay. Had to specifically ask maid to vacuum room. The facility is fairly clean. There's a laundry room, pool, exercise room and computer for your convenience, which is nice. However, I would have enjoyed the breakfast more if a breakfast meat was included in the spread.

Overall, it appears to be located in a decent area, not too far from restaurants and fast foods. There's Red Lobster next door, and a bowling alley two doors down.
It's alright for the price!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Durham for a Duke Basketball game and we stayed at your property because of its convenient location to the campus. From the time we entered the hotel, until we departed, we were extremely pleased with this property. The staff was very cordial and helpful when we asked for directions to various locations. The morning breakfast "treats" were constantly replaced to insure that all of the guests were assured of having a full choice of beverages and food items. As a Gold Returns member, I would definitely recommend this property to my family and friends. Kudos to the Manager of this property!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank patriciahQ477OX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Washington, North Carolina, USA
11
Reviewed January 26, 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
4.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill

Address: 4414 Durham Chapel Hill Blvd, Durham, NC 27707-2509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#11 Family Hotel in Durham
#16 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $90 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suite Durham/Chapel Hill Hotel Durham
La Quinta Durham
Durham La Quinta
La Quinta Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing