We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
213 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Nice stay...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Came for a quick business trip that was down the road from the hotel. The hotel is also very close to the airport. The building itself is dated, but they did some nice renovations to give it a facelift. The room was a good size and was clean. All of the staff I encountered were helpful. I'd probably take a pass on the room service next time (had a salad with salmon and the salmon wasn't bad, but not the freshest), but sometimes that's the way it goes. This is a solid Starwood pick if you need to be in this area of Raleigh/Durham.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online and for appreciating the location of our hotel. The Sheraton Imperial is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services, food and facilities. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Again, thank you for sharing your coments and I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    124
    64
    22
    13
See reviews for
34
18
17
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Petersburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived at 3pm for check-in. We were told rather rudely to sit down and wait, as the room wasn't ready (even though check-in is at 3pm). The front desk was indifferent and unfriendly throughout our stay.
The room however, was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear KatStPete:
Thank you for your review. We do take pride in our excellent hotel, and we sincerely regret that your experience was not up to our normal high standards. Please be assured that we will use these comments to train our associates because we understand the importance of a positive impact of a friendly greeting and genuine customer service to all our guests. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room. We have recently updated the guest bathrooms and in June will be replacing the carpet and chairs. Again, thank you for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that if your travels bring you back to the RTP area that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,
DianeT
Customer Service Manager
SIHCC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, helpful staff, clean rooms. Keep in mind that the shuttle back to the airport only goes on the hour, so plan accordingly.
I also thought is was nice and quiet on the club level. The club lounge gives you only two drinks, and the snacks have always been Herat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanbag109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Beanbag109:
Thank you for your business as well as your kind review. Both are greatly appreciated.
I will be sure to share your comments with both Lynn and Veronica our Club Lounge Concierges, We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come see us again.

Sincerely,
DianeT
Customer Service Manager
SIHCC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The gym is the best feature of the hotel. The rooms are fine but dated. The room doors really need adjustment so they don't slam so loudly but otherwise there were no problems during my stay. The restaurant is good for breakfast. The gym next door is available for a small fee and there is so much equipment that there is never a wait for anything you could want. Nice location near the airport and convenient to my meetings as well. It was not my first visit and won't likely be my last.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank detraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear detraveler_7:

Thank you for your review of our Hotel! Most guests find our location a welcome change from the asphalt and concrete of typical airport hotels. Our park-like setting, convenient to RTP, RDU, universities and corporate campuses, is a refreshing change for business and leisure travelers.
Guests can energize their day with breakfast in Seasons Restaurant or grab a muffin and a cup of coffee to go from the Café. For a fee of $7.00 our guests are welcome to workout at the Fitness Connection gym which is conveniently just a few steps away. I will be sure to share your review with our Chief Engineer regarding the guestroom doors.
We appreciate your business and hope you'll be back soon!

Sincerely,
DianeT
Customer Service Manager
SIHCC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel was close to the office I was visiting, but will look for something better next time. My room was clean and in good repair, but outdated and showing its age. I was surprised that the gym costs extra money, as so many places include the gym these days. (and since my company will not pay for a gym, I plan to stay in a hotel that includes it next time).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperienceTheWorld68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear ExperienceTheWorld68:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online about your overall experience at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel. I have taken note of your comments and will share them with the Team. Thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,
DianeT
Customer Service Manager
SIHCC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Room: Room is about average, maybe slightly larger than average.
Pros: Large work desk area, room looks and feels fresh, newly renovated. Free WiFi in the rooms.
Cons: Very flimsy/crappy closet situation. All other furniture feels substantial but closet looks like one you would see at a very cheap apartment on a episode of COPS.

Hotel Lobby/Common Areas: Free parking and free WiFi– in the era of nickel and dimming, it’s always a major plus. The expansive lobby opens up to the lobby bar and restaurant, making for a very open-feeling floor plan which I liked a lot.

Gym: The best part of the hotel, you ask? By far, the gym! Since the hotel shares a parking lot with Fitness Connection, they’ll just give hotel guests day passes to use their facilities instead of operating their own. What this means for you: access to a FULL gym, with dozens of cardio machines, an indoor pool, sauna, free weights etc… Now, Fitness Connection is no paradise, in fact it’s a very run-down, cheap-looking gym, but, given the added equipment, you’ll surely like it better than whatever Sheraton would have thrown together for you.

Location: Offset in large business park. There’s definitely not anything within walking distance, but, if you’re staying here, it’s likely for a conference at the hotel or business very close by. It is close to the airport, and they offer free pick up.

BOTTOM LINE: When I have to stay in the area, I think I’ll go out of my way to stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center if only because the gym is awesome. Throw in the better-than-normal lobby/bar and up-to-par rooms, and you’ve got yourself a decent hotel stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear JeffreyG:
Thank you for taking the time out not only to visit our property but to leave a review on your experience with us. We take great pride in our Hotel and know the importance of providing our guest with excellent customer service. You could have chosen any hotel in the area, but we are so glad that you selected the Sheraton Imperial Hotel for your stay. We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
DianeT
Customer Service Manager
SIHCC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for first time for 1 night. Free shuttle to/from airport which is only 5 minutes away. Quiet, pretty location in Research Triangle. Club lounge was very good. Free beer. Service excellent throughout with Southern hospitality. Rooms typical Sheraton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear PAQ:
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your overall experience at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel. I will share your comments with the Team. It is our goal to provide exceptional customer service with down home hospitality. We hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
1.1 mi away
Marriott at Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Raleigh Durham Airport/RTP
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Raleigh / Durham Airport
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 4700 Emperor Blvd, Durham, NC 27703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Imperial Hotel Durham
Sheraton Durham
Durham Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing