We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable, nice amenities, quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, nice amenities, quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

why people are hung up on decor amazes me.....stay at a 4-star hotel....if you can't afford it don't complain..

this is a solid hotel. very good accomodations on SPG level...very clean room, free wi-fi, very quiet even with a conference at hotel. great beds and pillows. reasonably quiet heat and AC...doesn't have the below window units.

convenient to RTP.

provided $5 coupons for each nite you don't use cleaning service...

will visit ahain.

Room Tip: Higher floors prob better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s2sailorlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    114
    59
    20
    10
See reviews for
32
17
17
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redford, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Planned a conference of top scientists in their fields, from all over the world. To boot, I was planning this conference from out of state.
I chose the Sheraton Imperial because our University had a contract with them.
I worked with Becky Shelton and her staff, and in 20 years of planning events, have not experienced the extraordinary level of customer service that I did with the Imperial.
They literally took care of every single request with a huge smile, and unprecedented promptness.

Everything from taking care of materials that I shipped; organizing shuttles to and fro for participants; security access; master bill for hosted guests; everything was handled with care and professionalism.

I arrived to handle logistics for the conference and was relatively useless because the Sheraton had handled all the details for me.

My conference participants were cared for with remarkable attention to detail, and I'm so, so thankful. If you are an event planner who wants the best hotel partner ever, plan your conference at the Sheraton Imperial. Period.

Sidebar: ordered room service the first night. Hamburger and spinach salad. Literally in the Top 10 most delicious burgers I've ever eaten. Red velvet cupcake was to die for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiveloavestwofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I booked a corner suite (for the same price as a regular room). It's a nice size, includes a small refrigerator (which I unplugged for most of my stay, since it's loud). Bed was good. Bathroom is small (similar to many Sheratons built in the 70s or 80s).

Negatives:

Furniture - chairs and couch, as with other Sheratons I've been to recently, seem really quite old. They also clearly haven't been properly cleaned in a long, long time. Every time I touched one I felt the need to immediately wash my hands. Needless to say, I sat at the desk chair and table chair (which seemed slightly better), but still washed my hands frequently. This is easy to fix, but they obviously don't care.

No safe - what's up with Sheraton's and no safe? Upon inquiry, the front desk first said "it's an old hotel" (as if that would explain why they don't have a $90 safe?), and then later said they'll be installed in January. Riiiight - too convenient an answer, if you ask me...though I hope it's true.

Noise - had to call security at 2am due to loud partier's running down the hall and slamming doors. Haven't had to do that at a hotel in a long time.

Restaurant - great for breakfast; not good any other time. Expect frozen, tasteless food.

Otherwise, the staff was quite nice.

Next time I'm in the area, I expect I'll try a different Starwood hotel. There's really nothing about this one other than it's proximity to the airport that would encourage me to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank screennamegoeshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night. The hotel was a disappointment – the room looked dated and carpet had an odor. It felt more like what might be an acceptable motel room rather than a nice hotel. The lobby area was huge and the bar in the lobby area seemed decent. Not too far from airport and in the research triangle but not too close to Durham or Raleigh. I would not stay here again.

Room was a long hike from the elevator.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
540 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I were only in the Triangle overnight and as we used to live in Chapel Hill, we had driven by the Sheraton Imperial dozens of times. I booked a Junior Suite for $71 on a Saturday in December. The room was enormous with a sofa, two chairs, a dining table, coffee table, king bed and entertainment center. We also received a complimnetary full breakfast, two cocktails and they had a complimentary shuttle to take you to local area restaurants.. The staff were all very pleasant and accommodating, the hotel was very clean, the bed was very comfortable. The location is great for shopping, business, airport etc., I would highly recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamstoked22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

While only 334 rooms, this hotel feels much larger due to the convention spaces. Plan to walk a substantial way until you can reposition your vehicle. Obviously, if mobility challenged, seek assistance. Restaurant was serviceable but the Red Oak on tap in the bar was my highlight. The third floor room was comfortable but dated looking. Bed was good and the night was quiet, so above average hotel with one of my favorite lagers that you can't get in a can or bottle.

Room Tip: 334 was quoet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis based but airborne often
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I travel in excess of 150K miles and spend between 75-100 nights in hotels each year... so I've seen pretty much the entire gamut of hotels and service levels on offer. In this context, I would put the Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center at Research Triangle Park in RDU in the solidly "above average" and "decent value for money spent" categories. Up until two months ago, I was a regular at the RTP Marriott... but declining service levels, smaller rooms and marginal food offerings prompted me to switch and it's been a very good decision. Here's how I'd break it down:

Upsides:
1) reasonable proximity to the airport - inside a 10 minute journey even in bad traffic
2) close to Research Triangle Park - inside a 5-7 minute journey
3) bellmen/courtesy van drivers are genuinely pleasant, efficient and accommodating - they consistently offer and frequently go out of their way to make life easier for you
4) rooms are good sized - many have treadmills
5) wifi is free and quick
6) bathrooms are not cramped - you can actually close the door without having to do odd yoga poses or Eastern European gymnastics maneuvers between the tub, the commode and the sink.
7) unlike the Marriott, you have access to all TV channels, not just the family friendly ones.
8) pretty decent lobby bar
9) club is spacious and nicely appointed

Downsides:
1) typically have to wait 15-20 minutes after you call for the van to pick you up at the airport - they don't dispatch them until you call... not always great depending on the weather
2) front desk is "efficient" but not always effusive or congenial. They always treat me politely but you don't always come a way with a sense of caring; having said this, it would also be fair to say that this is not universal - I've had some very pleasant folks check me in/out so it may just be time of day/alignment of the planets sort of stuff.
3) this is a LARGE hotel with a couple of very long wings - if you end up in a room at the far end of one of these wings, you're a hike back to the lobby; this isn't a problem if you're driving and can park near one of the back or side entrances, but if you're on foot ... wear comfortable shoes
4) food quality - average - definitely could be improved.
5) club food is marginal - great for a drink and a place to read the paper but nothing past that

All in all, this hotel is still in "plus" territory - and their generally positive service attitude puts it well over the top in my book. I'll continue to be a regular there.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors, closer to the lobby are generally more convenient all other things being equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChangeDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
1.1 mi away
Marriott at Research Triangle Park
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh Durham / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 4700 Emperor Blvd, Durham, NC 27703-8424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Imperial Hotel Durham
Sheraton Durham
Durham Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing