We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bright and Happy Place”

Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Q
Ranked #10 of 55 Restaurants in Dunn
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
447 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“A Bright and Happy Place”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were en route from home to Ocala on a Sunday, and realized our lunch choices would be limited. I learned with a ‘phone call that Smithfield’s was indeed open. We were both surprised and delighted at the restaurant. Somehow, one doesn’t associate barbeque restaurants with the bright, airy aspect here at Smithfield’s. The place was quite busy, but not mobbed. The service was attentive and brisk. I had the BBQ platter which was accompanied by french fries and a very good hush puppy. Mrs Too ordered the BBQ sandwich, and we opted to split an order of shrimp. We were unaware that the shrimp came with its own supply of fries, and consequently had bitten off rather more than we could chew. Our server urged a box to take home, but that was not an option, given our itinerary. It was a shame, considering how very good everything was. The decor was wonderful, with balloons rising from chairs, even fresh cut flowers on every table. Perhaps that was simply a Sunday lunch touch, but still it was delightful. We left very well pleased indeed, and will go there again if the opportunity arises.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Theretoo406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunn, North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best chicken I have ever had”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Literally it is the best! I don't what they marinated it in but it was moist and tasty all through the chicken. The 2 PC white came with breast and wing along with one side (plate size)

Helpful?
Thank sensgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn, North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The best chicken I have ever had!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This place is A-1! I had the 2 PCM white chicken combo - it was seasoned perfectly and juicy. Came with 1 side. My hubby had the barbecue platter - very good. The didn't drown it in sauce. The house sauce is like an eastern North Carolina vinegar BBQ sauce and I highly recommend anyone to try it. The service was outstanding - never s half empty glass. This place is a definite repeat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sensgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service but vinegary, really vinegary”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Really great service here, the staff was super friendly. The sides, banana pudding, and sweet tea were great but the pulled pork tasted like it had been boiled in vinegar and spiced to set your mouth on fire. If you enjoy that style of bbq, this is the place for you. If not, then the fried chicken might suit you better. The kids meal my son had consisted of a chicken leg, fries, awesome hush puppies, and Teddy Grahams, not bad for $3.99

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qlosborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St. Lucie, FL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and great service.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Discovered that it was further from I-95than we thought. Almost turned around. Glad we didn't. It was worth the 3 or 4 miles.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PSLCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing