We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate accommodations for pleasant beach vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barrier Island Station - Duck
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Duck
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Adequate accommodations for pleasant beach vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

From what I can see of the reviews and from what I heard from others while staying at the property, there is great variation in the condition/updating of the units. We rented from a long-time owner who was unable to use their unit this year. We stayed in a top floor unit in the Kinnekeet Station building. It is not meant to be a luxury resort. The unit had fairly new carpeting and appliances. There were some issues to be addressed such as cracked bathtub tiles and mildew in the shower, but certainly not horrible. The unit had a beautiful ocean view. There were a lot of stairs to the third floor, which may be an issue for some. I found the front desk staff to be helpful and friendly. We arrived in the dark and had no trouble finding the unit using the directions and map given by the front desk staff. There were numerous activities and events planned for the guests, although we did not participate in any. The outdoor pool was large and not very crowded. There were always lounge chairs available. It was very clean, especially in the morning. Bob the pool maintenance man was very courteous. He cleaned and treated the indoor and outdoor pools early each morning. We talked to a resident who had been going to BIS for many years, and she admitted that there were pool cleaning issues in the past. But, she said that after Bob started a couple years ago, the pool has been very clean. Beach was wonderful! The location of BIS in Duck was prime. It was so close to shops and restaurants. Fishbones Sunset Grille is directly across Duck Rd., the main road. The Waterfront Shops complex is practically across the road. My friend liked the unit and BIS so much that she decided to purchase a week timeshare there from an owner! I rate BIS "above average" considering the total package, including location, and also comparing it to what I would expect for similarly situated timeshare resort properties. It was built in the 80s so it will show wear and tear. One other plus is that the other guests at BIS were very friendly. Many have been vacationing there for many years and were more than happy to share experiences and recommendations to us (first timers to the Outer Banks). We felt very safe and welcome.

  • Liked — Location, convenience, friendly people
  • Disliked — Internet access, maintenance/repair of bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank girlluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    90
    97
    61
    38
See reviews for
171
71
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

We have owned at BIS for almost 20 years and returned to the area for most of them. Most years we have exchanged into a different week also at BIS but a couple of times have rented homes in the area. This is also a terrific option but plan to spend at least $3000 / week to go that route. As others have reported, we have had both great and no-so-great check-in experiences. I think it just is who you find on-duty when you arrive. It is difficult for new comers to locate the units especially in the dark as the numbers are small and because of the irregular (and charming) layout of the units, not always obviously ordered. Part of the charm / frustration. We have also experienced terrific new and newly remodelled units and older, in need of serious update / maintenance units with leaking windows and non-functional freezers. I would be happy to see more work done on maintenance but realize that maintenance fees would then have to increase. We had another time share in Colorado with Maintenance fees of nearly $2000 / year for example which were very nicely maintained. The BIS fee of about $400 obviously can't match that. We have wondered if the owner's association has a large hurricane insurance policy and is anticipating the next big one to allow a total renovation?? In any case, we love the area and are so happy with the experience, we are considering purchasing another week. The location is terrific, pool and beach availability awesome and potential is great. I have never had a bad time there, regardless of the accomodations. You may just luck into a redone unit and be completely delighted. If not, the beach and surrounding area can still be a wonderful experience. I'd recommend BIS because of its charm and location but it would probably be helpful to confirm the time of the most recent unit make-over to insure you will have the best possible experience.

  • Liked — The location in DUCK and the outdoor pool / beach access combo.
  • Disliked — The maintenance in some of the units (year to year) and need for update.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank busybis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2008

This is our first year staying in a timeshare unit we purchased sight unseen. The unit I stayed in last year in the same building, while dated, had no major issues.

This unit, 105, has many serious ones, including cracked tile, porch doors that sticks, cabinet knobs that come off in your hand and dated decor. The top problem, though, is the water! Water everywhere, coming through the walls and leaking onto the floor so much that you leave squishy, visible foot prints in the carpet. It leaks into and all along the main hallway and out of the vanity area in the MBR. The carpet is moldy, the wood in the door jams splintered and moldy. Vinyl tile is peeling up and water and mold is visble from all sides in the bathroom. The head maintenence guy commented that what would be best for this place would be a storm coming through and knocking it all down!

I feel bad for the people who will stay here over the summer as the problem is major and will only worsen, becoming more moldy and smelly and vile.

The outdoor pool has a giant ince wide crack that goes from the pool to one of the sitting areas; looks like an earthquake hit!

The ONLY thing that saves this place is it's location.

  • Liked — Location between the sound and the ocean.
  • Disliked — All the major water related problems in addition to the smaller problems with the unit.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Laison22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

Every year we go and stay at the same condo that my hubby used to stay at when he was a kid. However, they haven't updated it since he was a kid. This unit is a 2 story condo with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The AC is duct taped together and doesn't get cold on the second floor. Last year it rattled so hard that it kept everyone up. The roof in the second floor bathroom is coming down. The fridge door didn't shut cause it is rusted. The back door doesn't open or close properly. The unit wasn't cleaned...I found hair in my shower! The resort still hasn't fixed the pools clear coat so the pools are rough on the feet. The indoor pool is missing the same tile that it was last year.

If it weren't for it's location and the fact that this is our traditional location, I wouldn't ever step foot near this place. Walking distance from the community to the beach and the sound is fantastic. I wouldn't go anywhere near the kids tot lot, tennis courts, or basketball courts.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

We were greeted warmly and it took every bit of 5 minutes to check in. Our 2 BR condo was as nice as it could be. We had a full kitchen and were able to save a lot of money by cooking in. Each morning, we ate breakfast out on the balcony overlooking the ocean. We spen all day, every day sight seeing. It was fabulous!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank gohouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed at this resort? for a week. Check-in was very unorganized. The people behind the front desk seemed unfamiliar with the area (couldn't tell us where a grocery store was) and the services provided at their resort. There was a sign on the counter in the office, saying that wireless internet access was provided, but the staff had no idea what we were talking about. (We could not access the internet, as it turned out.)

The unit was very old. We had a one bedroom unit with a pull out sofa in the living room. It looked like the bedroom furniture was new but the mattress was only 4 inches thick and had springs sticking up. The ceiling fan in the bedroom was not working. We were only given 2 rolls of toilet paper for the week, good thing my friend brought some from home. The towels were threadbare. They gave us 2 packages of dishwasher detergent but no liquid dish detergent and only 2 tiny bars of regular soap. There was a washer and dryer in the hallway, to be shared with the unit above us. The unit was barely adequate and certainly not up to other resorts I've stayed at.

The Rec Center was very old and dirty. The indoor pool was in terrible shape, tiles missing, green water, not a place you'd want to spend any time in.
They did have 2 tennis courts, an outdoor pool, and shuffleboard courts.

We were told we had to check out by 10am Saturday morning, but when we went to the office at 8:30 am to check out, the office was dark and a gate was across the desk area. We had to shove the paper work , keys, and the small ironing board that we borrowed from the office, through the bars and we tied the iron that we used to the bars surrounding the desk area.
We called the resort about 2 hours later and were told that they had received all our stuff but the office didn't open until 9am!!
What a way to run a business!

On the plus side, the resort is on the beach and our unit was only a few minute walk to the beach. There are lots of things to do and see on the Outer Banks and fortunately you don't have to spend too much time in the unit, unless the weather doesn't co-operate, then you'll be stuck in this dingy unit.

  • Liked — nearness to the beach
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shugga96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

First, the units were hard to find on our arrival in the dark, the numbers were not visible. The unit itself was clean and adequately equipped for our needs, though thin-walled. But the rec. center, where we had planned to spend time in the indoor pool and hot tub, was dirty, badly needed paint, had outdated bathrooms, and the promised amenities were lacking. Also, on the 2nd night we lost heat in our unit and called for maintenanvce when the thermostat went down to only 46 degrees F! The night maintanance crew did respond fast with a space heater, which made me think (as I shivered under the blanket) that this must happen pretty often. They fixed it the next day, when it warmed up outsise anyway, but we couldn't use the pool - the water was freezing cold in it since they replaced leaking water with cold water! The hot tub was hot enough but old fashioned with poor circulating jets, and a handrail that was so loose it was a safety hazard. After complaining, we were given a pass to a neighboring resort with a better pool and hot tub, but they didn't inform all the guests of this offer, and we heard others continue to complain about the pool the rest of the week. The area has a beautiful beach for summer time, but we wouldn't recommend this resort!

Helpful?
Thank valstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
10.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanderling Resort
Sanderling Resort
#1 of 1 in Duck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Island Station - Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Island Station - Duck

Property: Barrier Island Station - Duck
Address: 1245 Duck Rd, Duck, NC 27949-4591
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Duck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barrier Island Station - Duck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barrier Island Station - Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Island Station - Duck Hotel Duck
Barrier Island Station - Duck NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing