We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, mold, mildew, 55 creaky stairs, dirty, dank, but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barrier Island Station - Duck
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Duck
Reviewed October 20, 2013

1980's called. They want their green carpet and southwestern patterned furniture back. 55 creaky wooden stairs to get to our unit (108). Knee replacement, anyone? Pack light! No ocean or sound view. Lovely view of a chain link fence and air conditioning units below. Black mold in top and bottom of shower off master bedroom. Mold around toilet and in the shower of the loft bedroom. Soap scum in upstairs bathroom. There is a window with a wooden window sill in the loft bathroom. Why? The wood is damaged and moldy. I wore my sandals while showering. Cracked and broken tiles on sink. Mold in cabinet under sink. Water damage throughout the unit. Duct tape to keep the draft out of windows. Dusty and broken mini blinds on windows. Mold around the vent fan in the loft. Nails sticking out of the carpet in the loft where the floor sags. Bugs and cobwebs all over the ceilings and flying around in the loft. Dirty sagging furniture from the 80's. Loose outlets, possible fire hazard. Kitchen was large, but dirty. Everything had a sticky film on it and smelled old and musty. Many cracks and water damage on the multicolored walls and ceilings, assuming from past water damage. I wore shoes at all times in our unit and washed my hands constantly.

On a positive note, you can drive to a parking lot right next to beach access on the property. The beach is wonderful! Quiet, relaxing, plenty of beautiful shells!

Duck is a wonderful location with lots of cute shops and restaurants. Also a short drive to the Currituck Lighthouse and the Wild Horse Tour spots.

The Outer Banks has many things to do! We spent an entire day driving from Duck all the way down to Ocracoke. This covered 200 miles back and forth, 2 ferry rides, and 3 lighthouses, and a beautiful drive along NC 12 beaches (Rodanthe, Hattaras, Avon, etc).

Roanoke Island and Manteo are great historic locations to visit.

The beaches are pristine and great for a day of sandcastles and seashell collecting.

I would recommend the Outer Banks to anyone, but cannot recommend this resort at all!

Room Tip: Go to another resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager27949, Manager at Barrier Island Station - Duck, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of our resort. We have used your concerns to initiate repairs to the unit to correct the deficiencies described.
Our resort is 30 years old and unfortunately needs renovation in many areas. We have worked to develop a renovation plan and will begin extensive renovations as resources become available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 353 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Loved this place, wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. We really wanted to get to the beach for a few days in July. It's nearly impossible to find a rental for less than a week but BIS fit the bill. Although the condo was a bit dated it was in excellent condition. We had a new washer and dryer, the appliances were in excellent shape, and it was very spacious. As a parent with 2 young kids I was overjoyed to see the lifeguards at the beach. We all had a very nice quick break at the beach. Will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eb447427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager27949, Manager at Barrier Island Station - Duck, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of our resort. We appreciate the positive comments. Our staff and the lifeguards work very hard to ensure everyone has a great time. Especially the children, our recreation staff has many children's activities that will entertain and teach them about our special outer banks environment. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was a little worried about what we were going to find when we arrived at 10pm on a Saturday night, based on the reviews of other guests. We were pleasantly surprised! Check-in at the guard shack was fairly quick and easy, and we were given a map and keys to our unit. I had been told, ahead of time that we would be on the third floor, which was not an issue for us. Mainly I had called ahead because I wanted an ocean view, and was told there were very few ocean view condos on the property. Of course it was dark when we got to our condo, but once we hauled our stuff up 45 steps to our unit, we sat on the deck and enjoyed a glass of wine while listening to the ocean waves. Too dark to see our view, but what a pleasant surprise in the morning when I discovered that we COULD see the ocean from our balcony, albeit from a distance. We were approx. 1/2 mile from the ocean, about 1/2 way back from the beach. But again, for us that was not an issue, as we hoped to get enough exercise walking to burn off all the delicious food we planned to eat!
We had unit 308 for a week. It was a two bedroom, two bath, with the second bedroom being upstairs. There was a little sitting area loft, outside of the upper bedroom, with a sleeper sofa, as well as a sleeper sofa in the living room downstairs. There were just two of us, but we could easily have accommodated several more friends.
While there, we enjoyed the town of Duck, and also drove to Corolla for a wine-tasting event at Whalehead Hunt Club. We also drove down south, hoping to see some lighthouses, but were told all the lighthouses were closed due to the furlough. So we ended up in a quaint little town of Manteo, which turned out to be well worth the drive. First, we had lunch at the Fisherman's Wharf (delicious food!) and then drove over to Manteo to walk around the shops. Very artsy community, and we were especially impressed with a little shop called Endless Possibilities, a Non-Profit Co-op where all items are handmade out of repurposed clothing and materials. The proceeds of the Co-op support a battered women's shelter! What a wonderful shop that was!
Back in Duck, we participated a couple mornings in the water aerobics (indoor pool, as the outdoor pool was too cold to do more than stick a toe in) and also did the stretching on the beach one morning. We also walked the beach several times, and were happy with that as a form of exercise. We wanted to use the fitness center, but it didn't appear to be worth our time. The machines were old and some appeared broken or rickety. We did not use the steam room or sauna, but we did sit in the hot tub, which is in the indoor pool area. A couple days we had enough warmth and sunshine to lay by the pool, and there were more than enough chairs around the pool. Unfortunately there were no beach side chairs.
As for the appearance and comfort of the unit itself, we were happy with it. Yes, the furniture is worn and dated, but fairly clean. The bed was comfortable, even for someone spoiled by a iComfort memory foam bed at home. The TV was older, not a flat screen, and the channels were a bit limited, but in reality, we weren't there to watch TV, so we made due with what there was at night, and mostly sat out on the deck with our glasses of wine. About mid-way thru the week, we noticed a large amount of flying insects on the deck in the morning. The patio door and diamond shaped window in the loft were literally coated with these bugs, so that we could not go out on the deck during the day, which was a drag. But they disappeared at nightfall, so back out we went with our wine!
The staff members we encountered were all so friendly and helpful. A special shout-out to Ali and Tink, who taught the water aerobics and provided us with some great ideas for dining and sites to see. Wish we had thought to talk to them earlier in the week. They did tell us that the Monday Morning continental breakfast was a great opportunity to share ideas about the area, where to dine, what to see, where to shop etc. We didn't attend that because my experience with those is that they are generally a way to rope you in to a time share sales pitch. We had no desire to waste time on Time share sales, as I already take full advantage of the one I own. In truth, we were NOT ONCE asked to do a time share presentation, which by itself is reason to return to this rustic beachfront condo. Yes, we had to walk a bit to the beach and yes, we had to climb a ton of stairs several times a day, and yes, our building looked like something out of Psycho. But all that aside, we were pleased with our accommodations, and are hoping to find a three bedroom for next year, so we can get a bigger group of girls together. It's a great place to stay, if you want comfort and not luxury.

Room Tip: The more stairs you have to climb to your unit, the better chance of an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LisaSCovington_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager27949, Manager at Barrier Island Station - Duck, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of our resort. We appreciate your comments and especially the kudos to the Recreation Staff. They work very hard -as do all the staff here- to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I made on-line reservations and requested a handicapped accessible room--stating that I could not do steps and requested first floor accomodations. I was not told that there were no available units without steps. We were given a unit with 3 flights of steps and that ruined the trip for me because I could not even attempt the steps every day. The units were clean and very comfortable so if handicapped accessibility is not your problem you will definitely enjoy this resort. This resort has a good location, 2 pools on the property, a snack bar on the beach side and on the beach.

Room Tip: I understand the view from the higher levels are gorgeous and worth the steps if you can handle step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager27949, Manager at Barrier Island Station - Duck, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of our resort.
Our resort is 30 years old and unfortunately needs renovation in many areas. We have worked to develop a renovation plan and will begin extensive renovations as resources become available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We just got back from our timeshare exchange to BIS. We were greatly disappointed when we stepped into the unit (we were in the 700 building,2 bdrm 2 bath,3rd floor) The furnishings were pretty dated(1980's beach theme). The first thing guests should not be doing when they step into their unit is CLEAN! The housekeeping staff need to be retrained to up their standards. There were brown spots on the toilet. Almonds left on the floor in the dinning area. The fridge had smear marks on both bins. There were onion slices left in the kitchen drain. The fan blades were caked with dust in the living area. The tub faucet leaked continually and was rusted. There are more, but you get the gist of it. Being a former Executive Housekeeper at a beach resort, I may be very picky but I don't think so in this case. The housekeepers need to stop and check their standards of cleanliness before they leave the unit. Now, for the good stuff. Pool is awesome and well maintained, loved the weathered look of the buildings. Staff is very nice and welcoming. Prices at the snack bar are great and so was the staff. The beach was fantastic. We may come back at a later date when the owners have renovated the units and retrained the housekeeping staff. It is in a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyBeach56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager27949, Manager at Barrier Island Station - Duck, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of our resort. We have used your concerns to initiate repairs to the unit to correct the deficiencies described.
Our resort is 30 years old and unfortunately needs renovation in many areas. We have worked to develop a renovation plan and will begin extensive renovations as resources become available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am writing this review prior to stepping foot on this property in hopes my situation won't happen to you. I booked 2 units through RCI several months ago for October 5-12. My mother is handicap and is not able to walk the steps at this resort. At the time of booking I was told by the RCI agent to call the resort within 30 days prior leaving and request a bottom floor unit. When called the resor they tld me that RCI was in charge of givin the room assignments and once assigned they were not able to change them. She told me that my mother's room was on the third floor. There are 35 steps to the unit and no elevator. I called RCI to request a room change for my handicap mother and they told me that the resort is full and there is nothing they are able to do for me. I called BIS back to see if we called the day before and if there was a first floor cancellation could they switch my mom's room and she said no. We have no other option to cancel our vation because no one was willing to assist a handicap woman. I am disgusted and appalled!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pgh_stlr_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our fifth stay at Barrier Island Station Duck and we were very pleased with the improvements we saw. We stayed in a 3 bedroom (2 level) unit, #405, the week of September 14th. There are many floor plans at BIS. Unit 405 may not be typical of all 3 bedroom units. On the first floor, there was a large entryway, a utility room with full sized washer & dryer, a full bath, and two bedrooms. On the second floor, there was the living room, dining room, kitchen, a full bath, and the master bedroom. There were two decks, one facing the ocean / pool, the other off the master bedroom facing the tennis courts.

This year the unit was by far much more clean and better maintained than our previous experiences. Clear effort is being made to improve housekeeping and overall maintenance. Not a day went by without encountering BIS staff. They all spoke and were extremely pleasant. The resort clearly has seen better days, but things seem to be finally moving in the right direction.

Location: Perfect. Walking distance to shops and Duck boardwalk.

Facilities: Clean for the most part. Great outdoor pool. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. As others have mentioned, the weight room and recreation center could use attention.

Beach: Clean and attractive.

Checkin/Checkout: Effortless.

Kitchen: Well equipped with plenty of dishes, pots, pans, etc.

Towels/linens: Clean and soft.

Beds: Comfortable.

View from # 405: Stellar. Pool and ocean can be seen from kitchen, dining room, living room, and deck. Sunrises are amazing. (See pics)

Condition of Unit #405: This by far was the best maintained unit we have seen so far. The furniture was adequate and clean. The rooms were spacious. The downstairs bathroom had been completely remodeled. The upstairs bathroom had some work completed but needed attention. There were several 'soft' spots in the subfloor in the entrance hall and near the sliding door in the living room. The carpets were relatively clean (based on the white sock test). The unit clearly isn't air tight. Duct tape had been used around some windows in an apparent attempt to slow down drafts. One of the dining room windows was coming out of its casing.

Disappointments: The Barrier Island Station web site indicates that the 3 bedroom units have a jacuzzi tub. Unit 405 DOES NOT have one. Our neighbors had five (5) pre-school age kids. When they were awake, they were running/stomping throughout their unit. The noise clearly came through the walls. The steps (and there are many at BIS) were right outside the master bedroom window. The noise from folks returning late in the evening or leaving early in the mornings would wake us.

Recommendation: If you are looking for a comfortable place at the beach, give it a try. This is not a five-star resort, but it is what most folks I know consider classic OBX.

Room Tip: Buildings 200, 400, and 800 are most likely to have ocean/pool views. Upper units require hiking ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jzinn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
10.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
3.5 mi away
Sanderling Resort
5.9 mi away
Beachwoods Resort
Beachwoods Resort
#1 of 4 in Kitty Hawk
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Island Station - Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Island Station - Duck

Address: 1245 Duck Rd, Duck, NC 27949-4591
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Duck
Price Range: $86 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barrier Island Station - Duck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Barrier Island Station - Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Island Station - Duck Hotel Duck
Barrier Island Station - Duck NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing