We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long time owner with all common shared experiences good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barrier Island Station - Duck
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Duck
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We have owned at BIS for almost 20 years and returned to the area for most of them. Most years we have exchanged into a different week also at BIS but a couple of times have rented homes in the area. This is also a terrific option but plan to spend at least $3000 / week to go that route. As others have reported, we have had both great and no-so-great check-in experiences. I think it just is who you find on-duty when you arrive. It is difficult for new comers to locate the units especially in the dark as the numbers are small and because of the irregular (and charming) layout of the units, not always obviously ordered. Part of the charm / frustration. We have also experienced terrific new and newly remodelled units and older, in need of serious update / maintenance units with leaking windows and non-functional freezers. I would be happy to see more work done on maintenance but realize that maintenance fees would then have to increase. We had another time share in Colorado with Maintenance fees of nearly $2000 / year for example which were very nicely maintained. The BIS fee of about $400 obviously can't match that. We have wondered if the owner's association has a large hurricane insurance policy and is anticipating the next big one to allow a total renovation?? In any case, we love the area and are so happy with the experience, we are considering purchasing another week. The location is terrific, pool and beach availability awesome and potential is great. I have never had a bad time there, regardless of the accomodations. You may just luck into a redone unit and be completely delighted. If not, the beach and surrounding area can still be a wonderful experience. I'd recommend BIS because of its charm and location but it would probably be helpful to confirm the time of the most recent unit make-over to insure you will have the best possible experience.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank busybis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Barrier Island Station - Duck
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 341 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2008

This is our first year staying in a timeshare unit we purchased sight unseen. The unit I stayed in last year in the same building, while dated, had no major issues.

This unit, 105, has many serious ones, including cracked tile, porch doors that sticks, cabinet knobs that come off in your hand and dated decor. The top problem, though, is the water! Water everywhere, coming through the walls and leaking onto the floor so much that you leave squishy, visible foot prints in the carpet. It leaks into and all along the main hallway and out of the vanity area in the MBR. The carpet is moldy, the wood in the door jams splintered and moldy. Vinyl tile is peeling up and water and mold is visble from all sides in the bathroom. The head maintenence guy commented that what would be best for this place would be a storm coming through and knocking it all down!

I feel bad for the people who will stay here over the summer as the problem is major and will only worsen, becoming more moldy and smelly and vile.

The outdoor pool has a giant ince wide crack that goes from the pool to one of the sitting areas; looks like an earthquake hit!

The ONLY thing that saves this place is it's location.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Laison22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Every year we go and stay at the same condo that my hubby used to stay at when he was a kid. However, they haven't updated it since he was a kid. This unit is a 2 story condo with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The AC is duct taped together and doesn't get cold on the second floor. Last year it rattled so hard that it kept everyone up. The roof in the second floor bathroom is coming down. The fridge door didn't shut cause it is rusted. The back door doesn't open or close properly. The unit wasn't cleaned...I found hair in my shower! The resort still hasn't fixed the pools clear coat so the pools are rough on the feet. The indoor pool is missing the same tile that it was last year.

If it weren't for it's location and the fact that this is our traditional location, I wouldn't ever step foot near this place. Walking distance from the community to the beach and the sound is fantastic. I wouldn't go anywhere near the kids tot lot, tennis courts, or basketball courts.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We were greeted warmly and it took every bit of 5 minutes to check in. Our 2 BR condo was as nice as it could be. We had a full kitchen and were able to save a lot of money by cooking in. Each morning, we ate breakfast out on the balcony overlooking the ocean. We spen all day, every day sight seeing. It was fabulous!

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank gohouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed at this resort? for a week. Check-in was very unorganized. The people behind the front desk seemed unfamiliar with the area (couldn't tell us where a grocery store was) and the services provided at their resort. There was a sign on the counter in the office, saying that wireless internet access was provided, but the staff had no idea what we were talking about. (We could not access the internet, as it turned out.)

The unit was very old. We had a one bedroom unit with a pull out sofa in the living room. It looked like the bedroom furniture was new but the mattress was only 4 inches thick and had springs sticking up. The ceiling fan in the bedroom was not working. We were only given 2 rolls of toilet paper for the week, good thing my friend brought some from home. The towels were threadbare. They gave us 2 packages of dishwasher detergent but no liquid dish detergent and only 2 tiny bars of regular soap. There was a washer and dryer in the hallway, to be shared with the unit above us. The unit was barely adequate and certainly not up to other resorts I've stayed at.

The Rec Center was very old and dirty. The indoor pool was in terrible shape, tiles missing, green water, not a place you'd want to spend any time in.
They did have 2 tennis courts, an outdoor pool, and shuffleboard courts.

We were told we had to check out by 10am Saturday morning, but when we went to the office at 8:30 am to check out, the office was dark and a gate was across the desk area. We had to shove the paper work , keys, and the small ironing board that we borrowed from the office, through the bars and we tied the iron that we used to the bars surrounding the desk area.
We called the resort about 2 hours later and were told that they had received all our stuff but the office didn't open until 9am!!
What a way to run a business!

On the plus side, the resort is on the beach and our unit was only a few minute walk to the beach. There are lots of things to do and see on the Outer Banks and fortunately you don't have to spend too much time in the unit, unless the weather doesn't co-operate, then you'll be stuck in this dingy unit.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shugga96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

First, the units were hard to find on our arrival in the dark, the numbers were not visible. The unit itself was clean and adequately equipped for our needs, though thin-walled. But the rec. center, where we had planned to spend time in the indoor pool and hot tub, was dirty, badly needed paint, had outdated bathrooms, and the promised amenities were lacking. Also, on the 2nd night we lost heat in our unit and called for maintenanvce when the thermostat went down to only 46 degrees F! The night maintanance crew did respond fast with a space heater, which made me think (as I shivered under the blanket) that this must happen pretty often. They fixed it the next day, when it warmed up outsise anyway, but we couldn't use the pool - the water was freezing cold in it since they replaced leaking water with cold water! The hot tub was hot enough but old fashioned with poor circulating jets, and a handrail that was so loose it was a safety hazard. After complaining, we were given a pass to a neighboring resort with a better pool and hot tub, but they didn't inform all the guests of this offer, and we heard others continue to complain about the pool the rest of the week. The area has a beautiful beach for summer time, but we wouldn't recommend this resort!

Thank valstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

As someone who bought when this resort was first built, I am deeply disappointed at the direction the current owners have taken the place. Housekeeping is just about non-existent anymore. They show up between rentals but don't do much at all. The linens are old and very patched, the kitchen has mismatched and/or missing silverware, dishes glasses etc. The kitchen is always dirty anymore. The furniture is way past it's useful life and the few things (like the linoleum) that have been replaced are of the cheapest quality. The pools are always dirty etc. It just seems that the current owners do not care. This used to be the nicest place, and I was always very proud to recommend it to anyone. Sadly, I now would not recommend it to anyone. My question is...what have they been doing with the large maintenance fees they collect every year since they haven't gone into physical improvements for the property? Also, when my best friend and I stayed. She had her Canon Elph camera taken from our unit and management did not seem to care. They just told us to file a police report. Upon talking to other guests at the pool, we found we weren't the only ones whose units had valuables and/or money missing from the locked units. I do not recommend this place to anyone anymore. How sad from what it once was!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Love2travel080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
10.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
483 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Island Station - Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Island Station - Duck

Address: 1245 Duck Rd, Duck, NC 27949-4591
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Duck
Price Range: $104 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barrier Island Station - Duck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barrier Island Station - Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Island Station - Duck Hotel Duck
Barrier Island Station - Duck NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing