We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Casual Vibe”

Roadside Bar & Grill
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Westlake, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food, Casual Vibe”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Arrived hungry from our traveling and were glad to be seated with our party of 7. It would've been nice to have some chips/salsa or something while we waited for our order to arrive. The service was average...but it looked the young man was managing a lot of tables. The food was very good: salads were fresh and crisp, and our server explained that everything was local and in-season. The portabello offering was tasty and those in our group that ordered seafood were impressed. We noted the "live music" area outback and are planning to pop back some evening to enjoy the music.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ColleenElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    156
    56
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Va.Beach, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor choice”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

It sounds better than it is. Very friendly staff but poor service and the food was not that great. This is based on 2 visits.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi4683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Everything is great to eat and drink.Place can be super busy but staff works very hard to make everyone happy. Worth waiting for.Great art work by the owners. Love their little beer garden outside.Back yard now has a cool oyster bar?out back.have not eaten their but looks fun.That would be a great place for large families?would limit my dining parties to no more than 6-8 max.Space is tight.most tables seat 4 or add 2 tables together for 8.food and service are great!!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Foodie Favorite”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Roadside is one of my favorite OBX restaurants. On a recent visit I tried the nightly special of tile fish and it was melt in your mouth good! I recommend trying the nightly specials as they never disappoint. Make sure you start with a bowl of their famous clam chowder!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VBSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have visited the Roadside many times and always enjoy our meals and appetizers. Most recently I had the pasta with shrimp and scallops... awesome! The shrimp and grits appetizer is wonderful every time. I am super disappointed in one thing...thus the very good rating instead of excellent. They had the most awesome scallop appetizer the last couple of years. This spring I visited twice within a month time period and both times the chef had changed it! Why mess with perfection? If you agree, please share with the chef as I did, to go back to the original.
You also must visit the Backside Bar in the rear of the building.. So cool to sit outside and listen to music or view a movie on a nice night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LurleiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadside Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Duck, Outer Banks
 

Been to Roadside Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing