We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot”

The Lifesaving Station
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lifesaving Station is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 34 Restaurants in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located in the original—and splendidly restored—Caffey’s Inlet Life Saving Station No. 5, the Lifesaving Station is a casual, three-meal-a-day restaurant celebrating southern coastal cuisine and regional, organic products. New with the renovations is a spacious outside seating deck and large fireplace. Known for its “best breakfast on the Outer Banks” and a-la-carte Sunday brunch, the Lifesaving Station is a favorite Duck, N.C. restaurant choice for both locals and vacationers. And be sure the try the Lifesaving Station’s famous Carolina BBQ Sampler and Spring Mountain Farms Buttermilk Fried Chicken, always on the menu. The Lifesaving Station maintains an impressive wine list. Local breweries are featured while specialty cocktails feature coastal “house cocktails” and bourbons. Upstairs, the renovated No. 5 offers sweeping views of the Currituck Sound. The relaxed atmosphere is conducive to catching the game and enjoying quality cuisine.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice friendly service, all from Jamaica, in town to work for the summer season. Good food, large portions, outer door seating with water view available. This was our go to breakfast spot.

Thank lamia321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at The Lifesaving Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for joining us for breakfast! We are glad you discovered us and hope you will be back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for The Lifesaving Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 380 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Read some other reviews on here, and not sure if these people were at the same restaurant I was at. Had a great experience with the staff from waiter to hostess. The food was the real star of the show as it should be. Had a few drinks and I thought the price for it all was what it should be. But it was all about the food, food, food. Would find my way there again if when I visit NC again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mwinktitanix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at The Lifesaving Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your dining at Lifesaving Station. We will be sure to share your comments with the staff as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Sandering is breathing taking, oceans views, beautiful resort and very attentive staff. Had breakfast and dinner in The Lifesaving Station and were amazed with the service and the food was exceptional, creative, and delicious . We will return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sharonannnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at The Lifesaving Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We look forward to your return to enjoy a great meal and friendly service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

A quick weekend to the Outer Banks was full of great food and great views. We ate at the Lifesaving station pretty much the whole weekend. Duck is very small and this time of year it is very slow ( which is why we went!) this made dining options limited. However, we were pleasantly surprised to find that food at the Sanderling was so yummy! Local seafood, regional produce, and great drinks. We had room service one night and we enjoyed that just as much. We were sad to hear that their other restaurant on property was not open this time of year but we will be back in the spring and cant wait to give it a try also.
PS: just a tip, have a drink up stairs at Bar 5 for an incredible view of the sunset!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mablescloset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at The Lifesaving Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your dining experiences while at the Sanderling. Thanks for posting that great tip! We love the new No 5 Bar with the views facing the sunset too. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Historical, interesting environment. Large dining area with fireplace. Wait staff not extremely personable.
Local menu choices and food was tasty. Unfortunately food allergies acknowledged but not adhered to resulting in illness. Management agreed to reimburse meal with no follow through.

1  Thank 2Bares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at The Lifesaving Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

We are very sorry this occurred. We absolutely understand the importance of food allergies and apologize for this. I believe the outstanding item has been addressed but please contact me directly if there is anything else we can do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lifesaving Station also viewed

 
Duck, Outer Banks
 

Been to The Lifesaving Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing