We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the shrimp and crab chowder!”

The Lifesaving Station
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lifesaving Station is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located in the original—and splendidly restored—Caffey’s Inlet Life Saving Station No. 5, the Lifesaving Station is a casual, three-meal-a-day restaurant celebrating southern coastal cuisine and regional, organic products. New with the renovations is a spacious outside seating deck and large fireplace. Known for its “best breakfast on the Outer Banks” and a-la-carte Sunday brunch, the Lifesaving Station is a favorite Duck, N.C. restaurant choice for both locals and vacationers. And be sure the try the Lifesaving Station’s famous Carolina BBQ Sampler and Spring Mountain Farms Buttermilk Fried Chicken, always on the menu. The Lifesaving Station maintains an impressive wine list. Local breweries are featured while specialty cocktails feature coastal “house cocktails” and bourbons. Upstairs, the renovated No. 5 offers sweeping views of the Currituck Sound. The relaxed atmosphere is conducive to catching the game and enjoying quality cuisine.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love the shrimp and crab chowder!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just ate dinner here last night. The food is great and southern inspired. Love the shrimp and crab chowder. Also had the mushroom tart with potatoes, fried egg and pesto. I have never seen that combination before, but loved. My friend had the crabcake sandwich. The service was impeccable and atmosphere lovely. I will definitely be back and will again have the chowder!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frugalmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    112
    50
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

After consulting trip advisor, we decided to have our fine dine dinner at The Life Saving Station. The server, Brian, although obviously kind of new to the profession, made up for it with fantastic guest service. I'll trade a little lack of service knowledge for that kind of attitude any day! Food was above average, although my NY seemed a little small for the price. Wife's Salmon was great. Sides complimented the dishes well. Stopped by for a drink upstairs afterwards and the service there was also great with Amy. Will definitely consider eating there again next year!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skierguy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed our meal at The Lifesaving Station from start to finish. Our waitress was particularly good - sweet personality, really knowledgeable at the wines, made great recommendations, etc. We wanted to try the Duck Fries but as an appetizer, not a side, and she suggested we get it with blue cheese crumbles and this sweet chili mayo...yum! They were addictive. The bread /butter was also really good. For an entrée I got the NY strip - done exactly as ordered (med rare) and lots of grill flavor. Maybe not the best I've had but still tasty. The cheesy grits with it were absolutely delicious (substituted that instead of sweet potato fries), as well as the pimento topped green tomatoes (so good!) and asparagus. Husband loved his seared duck and everything with it, only wished the portion size was larger. We did get dessert too...the strawberry "shortcake" w/the mousse - excellent! Only slight knock is the atmosphere is just okay - it is small but not necessarily "cozy", but truly it didn't matter. The food and service were just so wonderful, and while not inexpensive, I think it's a bit of a better value than some of the other restaurants in Duck. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VA_Vacationer128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Phila., OHio
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Being renovated”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went here for a drink to see the restored Lifesaving Station. The view from the bar was non-existant but they are doing an extensive renovation of the resort this fall and the bar is included. The drinks were overpriced!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank luvtogogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice family restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed our breakfast meals at this restaurant which is part of the Sanderling Hotel. We had great service and great food. The decor was nautical and quaint. We will definately come back to this restaurant again! We loved it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissLoisLayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lifesaving Station also viewed

 
Duck, Outer Banks
 

Been to The Lifesaving Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing