We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with wonderful food”
Review of Paper Canoe

Paper Canoe
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A stunning waterfront setting serving fresh food prepared simply and with passion by our team of friends using ingredients from our own backyard. We are dedicated to your experience from the time you walk in the door. An ever changing chalkboard features daily selections from handmade pasta, locally caught seafood and rustic wood oven specialties. Ten Craft beers on draught and extensive reasonably priced wine list showcase our wood oven pizzas and entree offerings
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Charming with wonderful food”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was right across the street from Sanderling Resort where we were staying so super convenient. Excellent service. Very extensive menu with numerous black board specials. Flavourful and excellent local choices. Stuffed shrimp, swordfish were standouts. Great location on the water (a newborn fawn was out the back when we arrived) and very quaint interior. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Thirstytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    104
    30
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sound side sunset dinner!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great sound side view - especially at sunset. Terrific food, fresh fish entrees, lots of beer and wine selections.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Woody1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Again!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here on every OBX trip since they opened and it has become a must on my dining agenda. The menu is imaginative and the food delicious. Service is always attentive, friendly and efficient.The beautiful view is just icing on the cake. I can't wait to go back!!

Helpful?
2 Thank moondogg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious, friendly, comfortable”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We felt welcome by both the staff and fellow diners. The bar area offers great views of the sound. The food is fresh and nicely seasoned. The staff is helpful and friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeccoQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a Shame!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant many times on our trips to OBX. Maybe it was a bad night, I don't know, but the food was terrible and expensive.

We both had the specials - duck and scallops. The scallops were cooked properly, but in some strange butter sauce and served with risotto. When we inquired as to the nature of the "glob" we were told the chef had made it earlier in the day. OH! That's the problem! Beans were over cooked, etc. for $34 per plate, I can't afford this type of mistake!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaramcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paper Canoe also viewed

 

Been to Paper Canoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing