We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fish/raw bar”

Fishbones Raw Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 35 Restaurants in Duck
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good fish/raw bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Went to Fishbones after trying other choices in KDH that didn't have the variety that we were looking for. We were told that there would be a 30 minute wait which was about right for our party of 7. Got the seafood paella, others in our party got blackened mahi and both were very good. Got steamers and oysters from the raw bar, very fresh tasting. Place is pretty small but I would have no problem going back again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    78
    67
    23
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spotsylvania, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“get place to grab a drink and relax when you arrive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

we typically hit this place in the afternoon when we arrive from the road trip and relax, grab some good food and a couple of drinks. food is not cheap but the quality is good and flavorfull

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duck, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“turn for the worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

we have been visiting the OBX for 10 years and have been to Fishbones at lease 8 times. Being that its a beach type atmosphere we know not to expect 5 star food and service, but its close to the shopping and the food was always OK. Over the past few years though the service has gone down hill, but because we usually were there around lunchtime and it was crowded we figured it was just because they couldn't keep up with the volume. Anyway, we stopped in last Wednesday around 3:30 after a rainstorm and the place was not crowded so the three of us sat right down at the bar with the hopes of some clams on the half shell and a cold beer. The 2 bartenders, Christian and Shelia, (they posted their names on the menu board) completely ignored us. We sat there for 10 minutes while they passed back and forth in front of us and never even acknowledged our presence. Sheila was too busy laughing and making jokes with another waitress and Christian was down at the other end chopping limes. Normally I would understand if the place was packed out, but like I said before, it wasn't crowded. So after the 10 minutes I was so aggravated I set the timer on my cell phone for 1 minute and we agreed to walk if they still didn't acknowledge us.....well... the buzzer went off and we hit the road. Never again!! I'm sure the think they are untouchable because most of their customers are only in town for a week at a time and its the only sit down restaurant in the Scarborough Faire shopping plaza. Word will get out, and people will think twice about wasting their time and hard earned money for such poor service. Try the Roadhouse, its only a 1/4 mile up the road on the same side!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never waited on”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in Duck several times and have eaten/drank at Fishbones at least once each time. That's why we were surprised during our last visit when we were never acknowledged by the bar staff after seating ourselves at the (mostly empty) bar. We waited around 10 minutes - no eye contact from either bartender, no "we'll be right with you," -- nothing. I don't even think they noticed when we gave up & left. We watched as one bartender cut limes and made drink orders for a table in the restaurant. The other? She had time to clear empty glasses off the bar & chat with another server in the little store room off the bar, all while walking by us at least 10 times without looking in our direction. Unbelievable. We won't be back.

Helpful?
4 Thank cmcameron17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Got there at 7 and was expecting a wait to begin with which was fine. The host told us 30 minutes. We came back a little after 30 minutes and told us it would be 15 more minutes because something about the kitchen having too much going on. Ok fine. 15 minutes later we sat. We had 1 appetizer for the table which came out quick. But then 3 dinners came out and we were told the 4th dinner would be right out. Well.... 3 of our guests finished their dinner before the 4th even came. So we asked to get the 4th to go. Even asking for it more than once, it didn't come out until we paid the bill (which the dinner should have been free). It was linguini and clam sauce so nothing that takes that long to make. It looked like the waitress was apologizing to everyone because of the kitchen. First night out for dinner on vacation and was disappointing. Not sure where the issue was. Could have been a kitchen issue with not enough workers, I dunno.

Helpful?
Thank NovemberRain27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishbones Raw Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Duck, Outer Banks
 

Been to Fishbones Raw Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing